A little bit of this and, a little bit of that, makes a little bit of me.

Happy Earth Week!


I’m a multitasker by nature. I liked having something to keep my hands busy.
Seamless Flower Dress Test Knit Modeled
I like sewing and quilting. Before becoming a fiber fiend, I was a fabric fiend. Hilarious, really, since my sewing skills are basic at best and I’ve only completed a handful of projects. I just couldn’t resist all the pretty colors and patterns.
Mondo Quilt Bag
But, knitting by far is the best, one I haven’t grown tired of yet.
Seamless Flower Dress Test Knit Modeled
Knitting gives me the combination of something to keep my hands/mind busy and products that I could enjoy. It really is the perfect solution for me.
Earth Day Domino Knitting Needles
Like the first, here is another season-appropriate quickie, using Caron Spa bamboo/acrylic yarn in Rose Bisque colorway.
Seamless Flower Dress Test Knit Modeled
The DK yarn provides a superior level of resilience and silky softness, exceptional elasticity which translates into enhanced stitch definition and superb body. It’s only about 5-10% more expensive than Red Heart and much less if I diligently collect them with 40%-Off coupons. It wears like Iron and can be thrown in the washer & dryer for simplicity–perfect for children’s wear and especially those allergic to wool. Besides, I can’t afford to spend $90 to make a sweater/blanket each time when I knit for charity.
Seamless Flower Dress Test Knit Modeled
This is very much like the tee version, except it’s much longer/slightly larger in size and without short-row shaping on bottom dress portion.
Seamless Flower Dress Test Knit Modeled
#33 of 52in52-2010 Challenge, #4 FO of the month of April 2011
Again, you start from the center of the flower; then, join two flower pieces by adding raglan sleeve stitches and gussets.
Seamless Flower Dress Test Knit Modeled
The sleeve length may easily be adjusted to your desire. But, I like this very much. It’s versatile, practical for layering effect in spring and summertimes.
Seamless Flower Dress Test Knit Modeled
From this point on, everything is knitted from top down, gradually binding off stitches on the sides.
Seamless Flower Dress Test Knit Modeled
The pattern is flawless. I succeeded to follow the written/charted instructions line-by-line as a test-knitter…totally speechless!
Seamless Flower Dress Test Knit Modeled
Not suitable as a first-time project.
It used up 502 yards, or 165 grams, in Size 5 and 6 needles. The yardage on first two skeins was off though (shortage on total weight than labeled) I did have to dive into the 3rd skein for a yard or two to finish the bind-off. If I don’t modify and add the 1×1 ribbing before ruffles, I probably can do away with just two skeins of yarn.
Seamless Flower Dress Test Knit Modeled
This fits a 1.5 to 2 year-old, very flexible to complement a fuller body
The dress is very darling…makes me wish mine are toddlers again!
Seamless Flower Dress Test Knit Modeled
Modeled by my 36” life-size Barbie
This too is up for sale if you are interested for yourself or as a gift…all net proceeds will go to Japan Relief Fund through Red Cross.
Seamless Flower Dress Test Knit Modeled
I love what I learned from this project and will definitely apply them in future designs. Thank you again, Ewelina!
Seamless Flower Dress Test Knit Modeled
If you purchase–or have purchased–the seamed version, this seamless one is downloadable FREE OF CHARGE once test knitting is completed. Now, here is another sample box arrived from Knit-Purl
Shop Samples from Knit-Purl
Should I open it? Or, finish two others in progress and one on deck?
earth-day-crayons
Happy crafting and keep those creative juices running!


(still doesn’t do texting, MySpace, Facebook, Twitter, StumbleUpon, DiggIt…)

Leave a Reply

