A little bit of this and, a little bit of that, makes a little bit of me.


Ah, poor kids and hubby. As soon as I reach a good point with my kids’ socks, I volunteer myself to do some more test knitting.
Violins Test Knit
Swatched for gauge in the past few days.
Violins Test Knit
Are you as ANAL as I am with the scale?
I consider test knitting to be a public service to the knitting community. Since I’ve emerged from a fog, I think I finally have the focus to be able to pull off something like this, in a timely manner.
Violins Test Knit
Two-at-a-time, magic loop in Size 00 Addi Lace circular needles
I struggled with yarn choice and gauge in the past few days. My two favorites were AVKW Metamorphosis in Burnt Ember–70%/30% SW Merino/Silk–and Madelinetosh Pashmina in Flashdance–75/15/10 Merino/Silk/Cashmere. Both are more like sport than sock weight. They were too heavy for my liking. The Blue Moon Fiber Socks that Rock stash is preserved for another test on deck by my creative designer friend (one of her sample work here.) Since the intent is to wear them at Sock Summit this summer, it would be too hot. Besides, I probably won’t wear it much the rest of the year either unless it gets sub-zero around here in the high desert.
Violins Test Knit
Finally decided on some really lovely Trekking Pro Natura (Superwash Wool/Bamboo blend) in my stash forever, waving at me endless, hopefully.
Violins Test Knit
in my favorite Estonian 1×1 rib cast on for sketchiness and clean appeal
It is an exact yardage/weight match to KnitPicks Stroll Tonal. It reminds me how much I love Trekking yarns and how seldom I do use them. Oh dear, yet something else to add to the knitting to-do list!
Violins Test Knit
What’s your favorite yarn…been forgotten/neglected?
Taste of Spring
Happy crafting and keep those creative juices running!


(still doesn’t do texting, MySpace, Facebook, Twitter, StumbleUpon, DiggIt…)

Comments on: "Socks. Socks. What Socks?" (1)

  1. Kirsten said:

    Love the deocrated sock blockers!

Leave a Reply

