A little bit of this and, a little bit of that, makes a little bit of me.

Days of Mystery


solved…at long last. Searched high and lo since last trip to the valley, we have been baffled for days…pee aroma in the family room. Earlier in the day, I found it–after removing a mountain of blankets/throws, a $900 lap quilt from a boutique shop when I lived in the Bay Area which no longer in business, an antique quilt stand–hidden behind all were my tax records, passports, marriage and birth certificates, Swiss account bank records, and more…soaked in pee!!!!
Days of Mystery Solved
Not including two bags already tossed in the garbage
Even the surrounding basket of fiber goodness smell horrific. At one point, I thought I was going to pass out! Oh mine…the fan is going at full blast.
Days of Mystery Solved
I am so distraught over the incident. Why do I have dogs, not one, two, but three?! Most of the blankets and sleeping bags have been washed and being dried. No mood/desire to salvage the wool stuff by washing in wool wash and distilled white vinegar to the rinse…only hope the legal documents are saved to an extent. How do I explain to the authority of the foul smell when the need arises to present such document? They are being air out on the deck right now. Any solution to rid the smell on paper material? I am in no condition to think as evident below
Dog Bite
Warned by my friend Erin, after trimming her hair early this evening, not to pet growling Dodge (a rescued Jack Russell)…did I listen?! Lesson learned.
IMG_0007
By then, I was not the best company to be around. So no Knit-Up with friends tonight but stay in and finished Star Gazing sash (see finished cardigan here.)
Star Gazing Sash Blocked
Bathed, conditioned, pinned and blocked
It took forever to knit up as I had to add 243 individual glass bead as I went. The 5-foot sash–which will be used mainly as scarf–used up 184 yards of the 3-ply wool/bamboo fingering yarn.
Star Gazing Sash Blocked
It looks like a river, doesn’t it? I am at a place perfect for dreaming or just watching the serene river flow. All good now.
IMG_0005
Happy crafting and keep those creative juices running!

(still doesn’t do texting, MySpace, Facebook, Twitter, StumbleUpon, DiggIt…)

Comments on: "Days of Mystery" (2)

  1. Ouch! Sorry about your hand. And about the pee. Silly dogs.

    The sash is ultra-gorgeous! I love that blue, and the blue beads add just the right amount of sparkle.

  2. Kirsten said:

    Oh, my heart goes out to you. Animal pee is so insidious — even when you get rid of it you go around sniffing for months, wondering if there will be more. We had such issues when our cat had bladder crystals and liked to pee in places that gave him comfort (our clothes, open drawers, etc.). So sorry for the loss of the stash!!

    The sash however looks lovely, and the river walk sounds refreshing.

Leave a Reply

