A little bit of this and, a little bit of that, makes a little bit of me.


Marsha Beaugrandan avid quilter, compulsive weaver, top-notch spinner, and master knitter who demonstrated fiber arts at local fairs and events–was unique, calm, never any pretense–just pure Marsha.
Spirogyra Fingerless Mitts Manos Silk Blend
Modeling Spirogira knitted by my older teen back in September, 2008
She was a beautiful person in her own very unique way. I first met Marsha at one of Mount Bachelor Quilters Guild’s monthly meeting. Among the treasures brought in for Show-n-Tell, her bright quilted jacket in bright assortment of green patches caught my eye. The colors, textures, and memories stitched into the patches were vibrant. Wish I had taken a picture of it then. I’ve been fascinated with modern-day patchwork ever since that day.
Bend Knit-Up Gift of Tree
More than 100 knitted items on the tree at the library in memory of Marsha Beaugrand, December 10, 2010
Marsha was always generous with her time and advice. As a new spinner two years ago, she explained techniques and different ways of doing yarns…when I thought it was impossible to learn, she dryly explained how I had to touch and see the yarns and that practice made perfect, it took time…of course, it was true! She even loaned me her Louet S10 for three weeks to try. As I got more experienced, we exchanged news and opinions.
Handspun Lace on Schacht Spindle 05.10.2009
It’s been months since Marsha’s passing on November 21, 2010. How I wish I had spent more time with her. I loved to watch her knit and appreciated her generous encouragement. Her death is a loss to the entire fiber community.

Last week when I visited my Wednesday knitting group, sweet Judy told me she had saved something from Marsha’s stash for me and made a special trip out to her car…to bring me this wonderful tin can
Sweet Memory
Inside it was some gorgeous modular squares composed and knitted by late Marsha herself
Sweet Memory
Roughly 12″ by 36″ strip
and all the fiber wonders
Sweet Memory
I’ve always thought of Marsha a knitters’ knitter. She was interested in its complex and challenging aspects. It was fun to see what she was up to on each Friday’s visit to Barnes & Noble where our group met. Marsha’s creative vision, expert advice, and cheerful demeanor and wit will be missed. Each time I pick up a skein of Marsha’s yarn (shown above,) I will think of her and what comment she might have made about the color, fiber, or how it worked up.
Sweet Memory
Rest in peace my friend.
IMG_0002
Happy crafting and keep those creative juices running!


(still doesn’t do texting, MySpace, Facebook, Twitter, StumbleUpon, DiggIt…)

Comments on: "Thoughtful to Give…Comfort to Get" (3)

  1. Rick Booth said:

    I just stumbled across this blog. I’m Marsha’s widower. Thank you for the piece you wrote about her. If you want any more info…or maybe Lisa’s already pretty much kept everyone filled in…send me an e-mail. Rick Booth

    • Thanks for stopping by and say hello, Rick. I still think of Marsha often. She and I shared many common interest, taste in fiber art. Not sure what came of her quilted jacket, it was one I always think of when I think of sweet Marsha 😀 Hope you are doing well.

  2. Is this the Marsha that was in the Navy?

Leave a Reply

