A little bit of this and, a little bit of that, makes a little bit of me.


I love learning new techniques, experimenting with known stitches and developing new ways to use them. I have been intrigued by patterns for crochet interlock, Double Filet is just another name for interlocking or intermeshing. The methods are exactly the same except generally with a different starting method to the one Tanis Galik describes in her new book…I just had to get the book to try it!
Interlock, Double Filet, or iNTERMESH
The more I use it, the better I am getting at it. It takes some adjusting to understand the process. When I am doing regular crochet, I know when my pattern is off and generally why. This is a tad different, but after third attempt, I was able to figure out how to do it .
Interlock, Double Filet, or iNTERMESH
The book has about 80 stitch patterns, give or take a few! Tanis could have made it into two or three books, considering how many projects there are–afghans, purses etc. It is worth buying, even if just to learn the technique.
Interlock, Double Filet, or iNTERMESH
Double- or Mosaic Knitting, it isn’t. Designer’s site with helpful videos here
What I have a problem with is the look of the beginning and ending rows. I’m trying to figure out if there is a way to change that a tad somehow so that it doesn’t look off kilter. Though I am a tad OCD on such things, most people may not feel the same way as I do on that part. The rest of the stitch patterns are awesome! This textured interlocking style makes so much sense for blankets. I look forward to playing with some serious patterning.
Interlock, Double Filet, or iNTERMESH
Front view shown (slightly different finish than Back view before this one
Happy crafting and keep those creative juices running!


(still doesn’t do texting, MySpace, Facebook, Twitter, StumbleUpon, DiggIt…)

Comments on: "Interlocking, Double Filet, or Intermeshing" (3)

  1. Love it!

    in reply, i have sold one item on artfire, and really like their set up. I will be listing more items soon and really pushing the listings, so we will see. If you want to email me I have to publish comments on my blog, so you could send me your email and I won't post it.

  2. Yes, this book is a gem! Wish I lived closer and we could explore the new terrain together. But looks like you've got a real head start ahead of me though as always;)

    from midst the fog and rain of springtime VT,
    the Vermonster

  3. Just came across your website after a search for double filet, I don’t know if you went on to do more, will try and look but not very technical but there are different ways to start and finish off

Leave a Reply

