A little bit of this and, a little bit of that, makes a little bit of me.


I observe. I dream. And, I ain’t talking ’bout the Big Dipper here.
Star Gazing Test Knit - Waist Shaping
I taught myself to knit, purl, ssp, p2tog–all backwards when I was doing entrelac a few years ago and love the acquired skill ever since then. It is very awkward at first but keeps everything neat in my lap and no mess/fuss with the yarn. Terrific for working with heel–the purl row is even–and in small spaces like on an airplane too. Thank goodness that I caught on…’cuz it has become a skill I use often especially on a project of substance.
Star Gazing Test Knit - Waist Shaping
one skein of Bamboo & Ewe (55/30/15 Wool/Nylon/Rayon) is used up
The flat-knitting piece came to 53″ by 5.5″

Despite having many, many sweater patterns in my queues that I feel very tempted to cast on each one–yet I must resist the temptation–I decided I had to test-knit Star Gazing when offered.
Star Gazing Test Knit - Waist Shaping
I felt drawn to its simplicity with a touch of lace elegance, eager for some no-stress earthbound knitting. This is a bit ambitious project, with 30% of overlay fabric for the front–most of it is in stockinette stitch. Each row starts out nearly 300 stitches, with a touch of lace knit-on collar/border. I must confess I really love seamless construction.
Star Gazing Test Knit - Waist Shaping
Personally, I’d have cast on to match the 1×1 rib and stockinette lace stitches
I made some adjustments to keep the lace symmetrical,
Star Gazing Test Knit - Waist Shaping
smaller needles to get gauge and glittery beads for added interest.
Star Gazing Test Knit - Waist Shaping
So far so good…no need to employ every mneumonic aid or keeping-track-of-things trick. No separate flash card for each pattern row (with each stitch on its own row and in large print so one may see it from across a table at a glance.) No lace lifelines. No marker. No line-by-line chart to check off rows as I knit. It’s simple yet sophisticated.
Star Gazing Test Knit - Waist Shaping
Instead of buttons or other fastenings, the cardigan comes with a lace sash. Would be nice to finish this quickly so I may wear it through spring, well into summer! Right!
Star Gazing Test Knit - Waist Shaping
Happy crafting and keep those creative juices running!


(still doesn’t do texting, MySpace, Facebook, Twitter, StumbleUpon, DiggIt…)

Comments on: "Star Gazing in the Day’s Sky" (2)

  1. Beautiful! I'm always impressed by your creativity & workmanship!

  2. I love how you savor and learn from each of your projects. Good living!

Leave a Reply

