A little bit of this and, a little bit of that, makes a little bit of me.

Swatch Central


I’m not known for my enjoyment of swatching; but, I confess to having fun, playing with math lately. I like to pretend that I know what I’m doing and get an idea of where my yarn is going. Most of the time, I just start and measure as I go–in the try it on camp ‘cuz I may yank out a cuff easily if it isn’t right. Now. I really need some input for the next test-knit. Anyone…everyone…even if you’re not a knitter! After numerous swatches made over the last few days, I am down to three choices for this lace wonder

First swatch in Madelinetosh Pashmina, Flashdance
Stargaze Test Knit Swatch 1
75/15/10 Merino/Silk/Cashmere; 360 yards/100g (Sport Weight)
Second swatch, in A Verb for Keeping Warm Metamorphosis, Burnt Ember
Stargaze Test Knit Swatch 2
70%/30% SW Merino/Silk; 385 yards/100g (Sport Weight)
Third swatch in Sensations Bamboo & Ewe, Lt Blue
Stargaze Test Knit Swatche 3
55/30/15 Wool/Nylon/Rayon; 262 yards/60g (light fingering)
As much as I love it in Pashmina, the overall drape and finishing in Bamboo & Ewe appear the best for a spring/summer cardigan sweater.
Stargaze Test Knit Swatches
I also have some Malabrigo Silk Merino in Blackberry–comparable to the first and second swatches–with a tad more drape than the two. Any helpful insight?
To the Valley
Spring showers aplenty…everywhere
Happy crafting and keep those creative juices running!

(still doesn’t do texting, MySpace, Facebook, Twitter, StumbleUpon, DiggIt…)

Comments on: "Swatch Central" (1)

  1. The Pashmina is absolutely stunning. The pale blue looks like something that will work very well, though it doesn't have much impact on its own. The pattern does have a lot of interest, so maybe the combination is the best you can do. I think the pattern has enough plain sections that it could easily stand up to as much color variation as in the pashmina, so if the malabrigo is similar there, I'd want to try it. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

