A little bit of this and, a little bit of that, makes a little bit of me.


Practice makes perfect–something I keep telling my kids. No more short-changing myself…I’m so worth the gift of time to practice, experiment, and experience.
Free-Motion Quilting Practice
For a Singer 7470 Confidence sewing machine, you need a low-shank darning foot.
Mine is by Janome (available at a local shop) plus $5 cheaper than a Singer part available only online!

I just plain have to chuckle, laugh at how incredibly crappy my free motion work is.
Free-Motion Quilting Practice
Can you spot my name?
With feed dogs down, the sewing machine may as well be a skill saw. It’s totally a different animal. Neither the stitch nor the line is perfect, I just do the best I can for where I am NOW. First, I doodled on paper a little bit of stippling, big, little, medium in pencil. Such rhythm to cloth seems to transfer. Having the right threads, a sharp needle, good music, and a good sense of humor help too!
Free-Motion Quilting Practice
Hearting more letter-doodling 😀
No apology for my misadventures…I am zipping up the lip, keeping any negative about my free motion work from escaping the mouth. Nothing I do here can’t be undone.
Free-Motion Quilting Practice
As an instant gratification sort of gal, I am going to enjoy the process, be adventurous, and have fun! With just 10 minutes of practice, I am no longer feeling awkward. Controlling the fabric movement and treadling speed becomes easier
Free-Motion Quilting Practice
Feeling quite at ease–tracing along large printed fabric
What challenge are you facing with today?
Short & Sweet
District Solo & Ensemble
Happy crafting and keep those creative juices running!


(still doesn’t do texting, MySpace, Facebook, Twitter, StumbleUpon, DiggIt…)

Comments on: "THANK YOU…SMILE…RELAX THE SHOULDERS & BREATHE!" (1)

  1. Good job, Sarah! All it takes is practice and more practice. Can't wait to see your vest finished.

Leave a Reply

