A little bit of this and, a little bit of that, makes a little bit of me.


I can always rip out my project and start over if I don’t like how things turn out.
Cast-On Dilemma
Unravel and re-knit because I’m a knitting maniac
I’ve spent the week starting a test-knitting project seven or eight times. That meant a considerable investment in time; reading over a pattern without a single picture of the finished knit that had a major flaw. The designer is back from vacation this evening and provided correction.
Textured Vest - Text Editor's Choice
Corrected Chart
The Monday deadline has been extended for two more days; photo shoot in Astoria rescheduled to next Wednesday. Though she likes my interpretation and modified pattern, I offered to rip out 400+ yards of knitting and start over
Textured Vest Re-Chart
My modified interpretation
It’s the right thing to do, the job of a tester…besides I LOVE the feel of this luscious thread!
Textured Vest to Frogland
Measurement: 9″ by 34″
If you wonder…the integrity of the light fingering weight Staccato is completely intact and totally reusable after numerous frogging.
Textured Vest to Frogland
Just wind it into loose hanks, dunk in some water, squeeze out, then hang from the shower rod until dry. Do not put any weights on them to remove the crinkles as it will stretch the yarn out. The gauge will be off once the project is knitted and rewashed when finished. Most of the crinkles will dissipate on their own, and just ignore the rest.
Frogged Textured Vest Winds to Hank
Frogging–I’ve learned to fix a whole bunch of errors over past few years by experimenting, ie dropping down stitches and picking them back up, reknitting through the error. Even though I’ve gotten pretty good at it, some things just won’t be fixed that way, so ripping is my remaining option as in this test-knit. If I were knitting a garment, I’ve learned to leave it for the time being. Instead, I take new balls of yarn and restart again. By the time I get up a ways, even to the point of where I was in previous rendition, I may compare the two side-by-side. Often the improvement is so striking that it really gives me a thrill how much better the piece is going to be with new modifications. Rather than striking frustration or a sense of failure in my heart at having to rip out, I may do so now with a much happier feeling, one of success and confidence that my choice to redo was the wise one. It’s amazing how psychologically different I view ripping. It makes me wish sometimes that life were that easy to redo. Are you afraid of frogging or ripping?
Morning at West Hill T.C.
Happy crafting and keep those creative juices running!


(still doesn’t do texting, MySpace, Facebook, Twitter, StumbleUpon, DiggIt…)

Comments on: "Knitting is like Gardening" (2)

  1. Nope, not afraid of frogging or ripping at all. I've frogged and re-knit an entire sweater.

    But when I'm starting something, and don't like it, I do what you do. Restart with new yarn and then compare. Definitely psychologically better.

  2. Kirsten said:

    I rip with abandon! As you say, it's all part of the process. Plus if I didn't, I'd fester over things that needed fixing. I think this actually helps with the rest of life–change is what we do when our current situation is making us unhappy. It's worth the effort.

    But I recondition yarn by steaming. Do you think the wetting method is better? I'm impatient for my yarn to dry…

Leave a Reply

