A little bit of this and, a little bit of that, makes a little bit of me.

Failure


is not a single, cataclysmic event. You don’t fail overnight. Instead, failure is a few errors in judgment, repeated every day.
2011 Junior Bach Festival
The afghan didn’t get finish! I was up since 3 in the morning working non-stop attempting to get to the finish line. At first, I was thinking of scratching off some details/elaborate finishing border…it made me sick to the stomach. With all the running around today, getting older teen to last-minute lesson with her mentor–to work out details for District Solo & Ensemble in three weeks because her mentor will be gone for next two weeks
2011 Junior Bach Festival
–before performing at Jr. Bach Festival at COCC,
2011 Junior Bach Festival
picking bouquets for the teen’s friend who is also performing at the festival,
IMG_0006
the pianist accompaniment, and the flute mentor (who has become another good family friend.)
2011 Junior Bach Festival
Then there was cooking for a friend, meeting up with father-in-laws and his wife who just flew back from Atlanta,
2011 Junior Bach Festival
deciding on a new cellular phone plan for four phones with special promotion ending today…
2011 Junior Bach Festival
I drilled over the facts that I lost three-day of uninterrupted knitting time as father-in-law had an heart-attack earlier on Monday and was hospitalized for two days…another 6 hours on Friday were gone due to 4H Cooking and Sewing–even with hubby’s help, I barely managed to accomplish all that needed to attend to (like picking up a pack of specialized cleaning pad for teen’s flute!!!)…all except for the afghan! I tried to justify all day why I didn’t meet the deadline! At the end of the day, I gave myself permission to mourn my miserable failure, but never ever give up. Fortunately, FOM had a backup. Mine will be the feature for next fundraiser drive.
2011 Junior Bach Festival
Failure is is only a detour, my teacher, not my undertaker. I am not discouraged because every wrong attempt discarded is another step forward. My middle-school homeroom teacher told me once: You haven’t failed until you quit trying. Success is the proper utilization of failure. So, my chin is high…my needles are resuming after another long day.
Life of Tree
This is where the afghan was at two days ago
I am on the last tier on the body now with borders to come. Thank you, my friend, for hearing me rant! Now, I can catch up on all that you are up to via blog posts ๐Ÿ˜€
2011 Junior Bach Festival
2011 Junior Bach Festival
Happy crafting and keep those creative juices running!


(still doesn’t do texting, MySpace, Facebook, Twitter, StumbleUpon, DiggIt…)

Comments on: "Failure" (5)

  1. How can you say failure? Look at all that happened and all you managed to get done, I am in awe!! You will still be able to give them the afghan for the next fundraiser, well done!

  2. But, Sarah! You can't just ignore the fact that you were dealing with emergencies as well as many daily urgencies! There is no failure here at all. It is great that they had a backup and next round yours will be an exceptional prize.

  3. I'm reminded of the saying, “Life is what happens when you're busy making other plans.” You just hit a time warp, that's all, and apparently got a lot of stuff done out of planned order, but not out of the order of priority!

    Congrats on getting through the ensemble — we've done that, and it is a lot to do and so nerveracking and yet rewarding for the musicians.

  4. Dearest Sarah, please scratch the word failure from your vocabulary! You are setting your own goals and you are your own and probably most severe judge – give yourself some slack, see the priorities and set achievable goals with a large tolerance span! Just reading about your activities of the last few days can make anybody dizzy ๐Ÿ˜‰
    YOU are important to so many people, real and real via virtual connections – rest with your inner self and know that we all CARE! STAY WELL!

  5. Me again: Just happened to read this clever phrase: I failed successfully ! Open to your interpretation … I think it is a marvellous realization that we learned more by things that don't go smoothly than those that run without a snag here and there.

Leave a Reply

