A little bit of this and, a little bit of that, makes a little bit of me.


Five? Six? How about seven (not counting one sold!)
John Westlake Spinning Wheel Oct 2010
Just wondering…There are people who obsess over coffee the way normal people obsess over wool and spinning wheels? Strange, and I’m related to them.

Now let me introduce you to my latest pricey yet priceless spinning wheel
John Westlake Spinning Wheel Oct 2010
Actually it was more of a rescue mission than an impulsive purchase. I had no choice, I had to buy it. Let me explain…
John Westlake Spinning Wheel Oct 2010
Scott Tension or Double-drive, you call
On my way back from Portland to Springfield, I stopped off Sheryl Macklin’s 40-acre ranch in Dexter (once 120-acre filled of Jacobs and Cheviots.) I immediately spied and gravitated towards a spinning wheel in the middle of her living room. It looked suspiciously like John Westlake, my first dream spinning wheel spun at Black Sheep Gathering last year. Though no marking, a quick spin confirmed my suspicion. It was a John Westlake, a weighted beauty!
John Westlake Spinning Wheel Oct 2010
Sheryl, second owner to this gem, never really got into spinning thus the reason of her covered in dust and dirt with little trace of wear for past 18 years. The bone-dry lady was a bit chatty before giving her a drop of sewing oil. After realigning the flyer-bit, it practically spun itself.
John Westlake Spinning Wheel Oct 2010
Her drive bands were broken, one-by-one, shortly after spinning and plying up some rambouillet-cross I scoured/carded recently,
John Westlake Spinning Wheel Oct 2010
Hinges need to be cleaned, unhinged, and rehinged.
John Westlake Spinning Wheel Oct 2010
John Westlake Spinning Wheel Oct 2010
Apart from all that, she was in an excellent shape for 18 years’ neglect…just need some TLC. A makeover here it comes…Is there a 12-Step Program for a Serial Spinner?

Accessories that came with the lady
John Westlake Spinning Wheel Oct 2010John Westlake Spinning Wheel Oct 2010
Nothing a heavy waxing job won’t revive its truth beauty
John Westlake Spinning Wheel Oct 2010John Westlake Spinning Wheel Oct 2010
Shown on the right above is the large whorl–medium one was unfortunately eaten up by Sheryl’s dog
John Westlake Spinning Wheel Oct 2010John Westlake Spinning Wheel Oct 2010
As shown on left above, three of six bobbins do not match
On the right above, this is a good example when wood is neglected–it splits!

A quick sample of 2-ply rombouillet-cross fine lace spun and plied with this sweet, gracious lady in the car, on my way home
Rombouillet Cross 2-Ply Fine Lace

Leaving for Home at last
Leaving for Home at last
Happy crafting and keep those creative juices running!

(still doesn’t do texting, MySpace, Facebook, Twitter, StumbleUpon, DiggIt…)

Comments on: "How Many Spinning Wheels Make an Obsession?" (2)

  1. Haha! 12 step! Yes I need it too! It's a beautiful wheel and thank goodness you were there to rescue it from being under appreciated! I have a friend with 10 wheels now that is obsessive…I've stopped at 3 myself, if you don't count the charka & all the spindles.

  2. Hi,
    I just inherited a John Westlake wheel from the maker's son who recently passed away. But..how on earth do you set it up? It has more hooks, cleat, and adjustment levers than I've ever seen! Any suggestions?
    Donna

Leave a Reply

