A little bit of this and, a little bit of that, makes a little bit of me.

Tell Me Tell Me Quick!


I am enjoying another lovely bright day in the high desert,
IMG_0160
blessed with Indian summer heat in late September, and absorbing–digesting–processing–all the fiber knowledge and tips acquired over the weekend.
IMG_0157
Before I left for the family retreat two weeks ago, I had a bucket of Romney fleece
Romney Skirted Fleece from OFFF
in cold water soaking for days out in the yard.
Romney Fleece Cold Wash Outside
Temperature dropped significantly right I started the trial. It didn’t turn out as I read through various online sources–did get rid of some dirt and suint. Oooooh boy, the wet fluff stinks even after it’s been dried and aired for two weeks on the porch! Instead of tossing them out,
IMG_0139
Modeling Ann’s hand-spun Elsewhere Sweater
LeAnn suggested I soaked them in Eucalyptus Spearmint Bath Salt by Bath & BodyWorks
Cleaned and Washed Romney Fleece
It’s spendy ($16 for 17 ounces) but works wonder! With quick card, they are ready to go. I’ve spun up a sample of 2-ply lace with one of my spindles
Romney 2-Ply Sample
and really do think it is best to blend with other fine fiber. Mohair? Targhee? Corriedale? Superfine Merino? Cashmere? Rombouillet? Alpaca? Llama? Bluefaced Leicester? Silk? Tencel? Seacell? Bamboo?

In the last year, I’ve spun mostly Alpaca,
Alpaca Fleece from Last Year
Gorgeous White Alpaca Fleece from Last Year
merino
Superfine Merino from U.K.
llama,
Llama Junk Sorted Out 2nd Cuts and Guard Hair
cashmere, yak,
Cashmere and Yak
bluefaced leicester
BFL Handdyed and Spun 2-Ply Lace
Alpaca/BFL Batt by Taylored Fibers
luscious silk
IMG_0129
and some shetland
Handspun #7 Glowy Shetland Bat Chart B 09.09.2009
corriedale
Coriedale Deep Blue Sea
Handspun Cobweb Singles Corriedale RED
rombouillet cross
Ceres Fibers Skirted Yearling Ewe Romney Coriedale & Rambouillet X 5.25 lb $21
and Jacobs
Handspun 3-Ply Lace Jacob & Silk Thread in Hank
but now am trying different breeds. Merino top is slick so can BFL, llama & alpaca for someone trying to learn to spin.
Handspun SOAR 2009 Dyed BFL Singles
Romney is a great fiber for new spinners to work with, so easy to spin–it takes the frustration factor out of spinning. It’s why I chose it last year, three months into spinning. And it dyes well! Romney was my first wooly fleece purchased at Black Sheep Gathering last year. I like it used, a whole bag full (grin) ready for experiment!

AND, I need your help!

I would love to get any tips from you on
What to do?
What fiber to blend?
Card? or Comb?
Hand-Dyed? Painted?
Lace? Fingering? Worsted? Aran? Bulky? Novelty? Boulce? Core Wrap/Spun?
Your personal favorites
Quirky book or online source to haunt,
Don’t-dare-miss-this experiences

Please drop in a comment

With your recommendations
And I’ll send you all my love
Everyday in a letter
Sealed with a kiss
(Umm, well not exactly everyday and–that kiss–just might be a bit too much…but you get the idea, right?))

Signing off
In eager anticipation
Of the tips you will send me!
IMG_0014
IMG_0016
DD#2 Drawing for Binder Cover
Happy crafting and keep those creative juices running!


(still doesn’t do texting, MySpace, Facebook, Twitter, StumbleUpon, DiggIt…)

Comments on: "Tell Me Tell Me Quick!" (1)

  1. I have been working on two Romney fleeces myself! After washing it was still quite oily but I'm just carding it up a few batts at a time and when I finish spinning a good sized batch I dye with indigo. I think there are some pics on my blog somewhere…I'm weaving it into a blanket! I hope to be finished with it by Christmas to give to my husband.

Leave a Reply

