A little bit of this and, a little bit of that, makes a little bit of me.

Midsummer’s Night


A light, lacy wrap for those magical Midsummer nights
Midsummer Night's Lace Close Up
I had to make it the minute I saw Lisa Naskrent’s Midsummer’s Night.

Although it appears complicated (like my Morning Dew aka Estonian Star or Flower), it is a very easy pattern. The elegant drape and simple repeating lace pattern provide the perfect medium for showing off this Noro Sekku in my stash since last yarn crawl (aka shop hop) in April.
Midsummer Night's Lace
As you see, I both knit and crochet–and recently more with the latter. I don’t remember which I learned first, but, I am the oddball in family because I am the only one (in my generation) remotely considered crafty.

Knitting in a way is easier than crochet because the stitches are sitting there waiting for me on the needle; whereas in crochet, I have to go look for them. No problems with starting chains and pieces that mysteriously shrink or grow because I mess up the first stitch. Do watch out for accidental yarn overs and split stitches splitting the yarn in half when you knit a stitch.
IMG_0170
I love both crafts for different things. Each has its own special qualities and charms, in my opinion, and knowing both just gives me many more possibilities. What is your preference?
IMG_0033
Happy crafting and keep those creative juices running!


(still doesn’t do texting, MySpace, Facebook, Twitter, StumbleUpon, DiggIt…)

Leave a Reply

