A little bit of this and, a little bit of that, makes a little bit of me.


First thing first, here are two sparkly medallions I made today between Campfire Day Camp and 4H Record Book Check (it was a crazy day!)
IMG_0076
Not sure how it’d fit in with the rest…regardless, I love making them.
* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *
Over the weekend, my teen fashionista on a Shoestring and I visited her local favorite thrift store Goodwill. She loves hunting for bargains at thrift stores. Almost immediately, I spotted this bag of silky goodness by Southwest Trading Company
Infinity Soy Silk Fine Tread
Eight 100-gram spools of 100% Infinity Soy Silk, each with 1400 yards, all for a whopping $3.50 (green tag 1/2 off sale of $6.99.)Each spool retails $14.95!This Extra Fine Merino pullover by Banana Republic
Extra Fine Italian Merino Retro
fits me perfectly, for $4.50 (another green tag 1/2 off sale of $9.99.)

This luxurious Banana Republic Top–63% Silk, 21% Cashmere, 14% Nylon, & 2% Spandex–in Size Medium
Silk and Cashmere Blouse
will be reclaimed for a knitting project–cost me $6.50 (green tag 1/2 off sale of $12.99.)

I walked around with this one all through the store until check-out. It doesn’t really fit me as it’s a Medium. The twisted vines embroidery makes it difficult to unravel for other knitting project. But, I couldn’t resist the Tiffany Ahead Cashmere, Angora, and lambswool fiber content and its $4 price (green tag 1/2 off sale of $7.99.) So, it came home with me. This will most likely have a makeover to another fiber-art wear.
Twisted Vine Cashmere/Angora

Here are all my treasures found within an hour
Big Score at Goodwill
knitwear shown here and not mentioned above are either made of 100% silk or linen–all practically brand new.

My bag could have been easily tripled…fortunately I am PICKY about what I buy. If you see an item you want, buy it! Chances are if you wait until later, it will be gone. Don’t hide things in other racks, someone else will find it and buy it. I’ve found and bought treasures hidden in pajamas rack or even furniture section! My shopping trips are much shorter now since I know what to look for and what to pass on. When I have my teen with me, that’s totally a different tune.
IMG_0011
As I blog about the treasures, I realized what is so special about Goodwill. Aside from finding good deals and helping support its mission, people enjoy shopping Goodwill for the thrill of the hunt. On any given day, you never know what you’ll come across. Your cool find is out there just waiting to be discovered.

IMG_0058
IMG_0066
Day Two of Campfire Day Camp at Tumalo State Park
Happy crafting and keep those creative juices running!


(still doesn’t do texting, MySpace, Facebook, Twitter, StumbleUpon, DiggIt…)

Leave a Reply

