A little bit of this and, a little bit of that, makes a little bit of me.


I am not big on granny squares…but motif like these hexagons is an appealing shape to me. I gave it a whirl
Yellow and Mustard Green Hexagons
The prospect of sewing all twenty five hexagons together absolutely overwhelmed me. I would much rather join them as I go…not this one. Instead, I slip-crocheted pieces together. This technique isn’t for everyone as it leaves lumps and bumps–to some, this isn’t a pretty sight.
1st Cotton Collection of Hexagons Assembled
I played around with a matching half-hexagon to smooth out the edges but after numerous unsuccessful attempts. I opt not to do it for this one. Back to drawing board for a finishing touch…

Now, how about some delectable cupcakes?

Knitted articles are made of marzipan, courtesy of Lolo of veganyumyum.com
Here is a video clip where Lolo, as a guest on Martha Stewart Show in early 2008 showing Martha how to make these A-M-A-Z-I-N-G, most visually pleasing cupcakes

If baking is your thing, be sure to check out Lolo’s detailed tutorial here.
Happy crafting and keep those creative juices running!


(still doesn’t do texting, MySpace, Facebook, Twitter, StumbleUpon, DiggIt…)

Comments on: "Not Your Granny’s Granny Squares!" (3)

  1. Love your link of the kitchen knits! Will pass it to the Dutch also! Thank you!
    And those hexagones…? patience and color fun it seems to me! Enjoy it!

  2. Your blog has been recommended to us as a interviewee's favorite blog!

    We would like to do an interview with you about your blog for Blog
    Interviewer. We'd
    like to give you the opportunity to
    give us some insight on the “person behind the blog.”

    It would just take a few minutes of your time. The interview form can
    be submitted online here Submit your
    interview
    .

    Best regards,

    Mike Thomas

  3. I love how those hexagons look all connected – but I do see the finishing issue. They are tremendously more fun than Granny Squares, though, I sure agree.

    And I can't believe those cupcakes! My jaw literally dropped!

Leave a Reply

