A little bit of this and, a little bit of that, makes a little bit of me.


good news for knitters/spinners. While listening to some of the most talented young musicians in Central Oregon competing at Willy Student Center of COCC
IMG_0105IMG_0152
and photographing more gradient spun,
IMG_0008
this thought came over me and got me to ponder. Possum…a long soft fiber, newly introduced to my recent discovered fiber world at Sock Summit last summer. I didn’t get any because the thought of the killing & removing hair of a possum bothered me. I wanted to know and think more about how it’s acquired and processed, etc., armed myself with knowledge.

It’s my understanding that New Zealand possums are actually evil Australian imports that have devastated New Zealand wildlife, native bird population, and trees. Locals are actively trying to get rid of them. Possums are pretty feral in Australia too, however, they are native and protected in Australia–in New Zealand, there is a bounty on possums. Invasive species need predators. That’s what they do. Do you have a problem with that?

I just don’t like the cavalier attitude about removing fiber that involves killing owner of said fur. It’s a personal decision. I don’t think a person who is a fair-trade, ECO green sustainable, low-carbon footprint sort is necessarily better than those who aren’t. Different yes. Personally, I just like to know where things come from and how they come to be. You can order possum fur direct from Ashfords NZ. I’ve also heard you may get smoked possum at a speciality/game butcher–I haven’t tried it yet, but, I can report roasted beetles tasted crunchy delicious from my childhood in Hong Kong, a British colony then.

Now, the heart of the ponder: When you’re making something for a vegetarian/vegan friend who would be upset by the information above, invasive species or not, would you choose other fibers for the project?

There was no knitting but I did spin up more gradient of color 2-ply lace and played with my new memory card

WOW…amazing new technology. Wish I had upgraded sooner.
IMG_0011
The quality, the speed, the outcome…is well worth the quadrupled price tag over that of a basic Sandisk version. I am having fun learning about my camera and playing with manual digital photography as my Photo365 challenge.

Happy crafting and keep those creative juices running!


(still doesn’t do texting, MySpace, Facebook, Twitter, StumbleUpon, DiggIt…)

Leave a Reply

