A little bit of this and, a little bit of that, makes a little bit of me.

The Jof of Painting


…with fabric and scraps.
Jelly Roll Fabric Galore
It’s a time to set free your imagination, pick up some needle, thread, scraps, and PLAY. How do you decide what works well or what doesn’t…visual trial and error.
Liberated House #2
I love this sketch the more I look at it
…will definitely make this one at next round

Nice thing about liberated quilting…don’t like how a block looks after piecing all up, cut/trim/reposition until you are satisfied. Like a puzzle, if a jigsaw piece doesn’t fit a spot, try another spot or different fabric. Or do both.
Liberated House #2 Slivers & Curve
Liberated House #2, sewn by hand, with more embellishment to come
If you’re like me growing up inoculated with a thrifty use everything mentality–saved scraps in everything, liberated quilting is for you! I find myself in a fabric frenzy, breathing hard, working my way around the color wheel and beyond, to black-and-white, white-on-cream, yellow, orange, dusky shades of indeterminate hue, accumulating solids, texture, geometric, abstract, pictorial…prints small, medium and large, values dark, medium and light. I couldn’t wait to start the next block. I am border-line hooked.

Now redirecting your attention back to some knitting love, Panache (pattern is now available at Ravelry.com for sale) is finally dressed up with some cutey shell buttons
Panache Band with Button OptionsPanache V.1 With Shell Buttons
It’d be better with darker wooden buttons…there isn’t a whole lot of selection of 1/2″ ones at the local Hancock Fabrics store. Maybe at our Yarn Crawl to Portland in April, I will find some then. Next up is my take on Mathew Gnagy’s Helleborus Yoke

I am not concerned about getting the gauge but rather examine and grasp the design element/schematic process. I’ll knit mine as seamless as possible and alter the pattern as I go to adjust to my gauge in the Elizabeth Zimmermann (EZ> way. In Patons Classic Wool and Size-7 needles, my moss-stitch patch measured 3″x3.25″. The cable-panel yoke was 5.25″ wide by 6.75″ tall if I were wearing it. The swatches are a tad looser than preferred so I may down-size to US 6 needles to cast on or double the yarn and up a size needle. Here is a helpful article on adjusting gauge if you’d like to personalize your wear. The honeycombs (aka woven, smock, mock, or coin cable stitch-just like the border of this vest) and the twisted stitch flow naturally. Once set-up row is in, there is no need to look at the pattern other than to next section of changes.
Helleborus Yoke Swatches & Button Choice
52in52-2010 Challenge #25
The 24-row yoke repeat includes cable panel and short rows that make the fabric curve…basic building block of the sweater vest. At times, I will increase or decrease after a set of short rows. Resume Short Rows means to go back to standard 24-row yoke repeat after knitting centered back straight, without shaping of any kind. I should been working my 24-row cable yoke repeat with short rows before getting to the straight bit at centered back. Now, let the fun begin…anyone likes to knit-along with me?

Happy crafting and keep those creative juices running!


(still doesn’t do texting, MySpace, Facebook, Twitter, StumbleUpon, DiggIt…)

Leave a Reply

