A little bit of this and, a little bit of that, makes a little bit of me.


This is a project that had been on my radar for a few years. I first saw it on Glam Knits and filed it away in my library and memory as something to do sometime. When I came across it again, a few weeks ago, one similar worn by my friend Nancy at Bend Knit-Up, I added it to my mental queue. After the last lace challenge, I looked for fun elsewhere and started this project on Monday (Thanks, Nancy, really…and I know you read my silly posts.) At the Wednesday night knitting group, I got half-way on my shrugs! Yay! I love when I get half way done with something; the light appears at the end of the tunnel and I know I can do it. Yesterday, thanks to the additional hour of knitting on my first Cascade East bus-ride to Sisters, I covered most of the tedious seed-stitch rows. For all of you out there with baited breath for me to finish the fun knit on an impulse, here it is:
Textured Knit Front Close Up
PROJECT SPECS (More here and here)
CAST ON:
March 1, 2010
BIND OFF: March 4, 2010 (Approximately 14 hours in knitting and blocking time.)
PATTERN:  Inspired by Stephanie Japel’s Textured Shrug and Julia Allen’s Circular Shrug
MATERIAL: 3 balls (with 2 grams of leftover) of Patons Classic Wool in CURRANT colorway
NEEDLES: US 5 and 7
SIZING: From Neck to upper back, 9″; underarm to underarm 19″; shoulder to sleeve cuff 10″ relaxed–a Woman’s Small
MODIFICATIONS: Not Applicable. Only use schematic for design inspiration.  Started the project without gauge.  As it started out a basic raglan, top-down, I tried for size as I went.  Rest was credited to the magic of steam-iron blocking.
Textured Knit Side
COMMENTS: The shrug is very drapery and warm…perfect for spring and breezy summer days. I originally wanted to make a longer body–the fit isn’t the best–but it works. This is a fabulous garment. I’m ready to make another one and will up-size the next shrug with some short-row knitting…planning…planning.
Textured Knit Back
For the first time in 3 years, I didn’t have a knitting project to bring to Knit-Up this morning! Yes, no knitting for the weekend either…I want to free up my time to prepare for Freddy and Gwen’s quilting workshop at Stitchin’ Post on Monday and Tuesday.

Plus, my teen has her first District Solo & Ensemble competition tomorrow where both her band and new flute teachers will be there! She wasn’t able to compete last year because she didn’t take any class at a school. It sure has been a rough week here at Fairystitch. How was yours?

March 11, 2010: Updated Ravelry link for Circular Shrug as patterns offered at Peonyknits site is no longer available.

Happy crafting and keep those creative juices running!

(still doesn’t do texting, MySpace, Facebook, Twitter, StumbleUpon, DiggIt…)

Comments on: "52in52-2010 Challenge #22: Textured Knit" (3)

  1. Vicky Carlton said:

    Isn't it funny that this is a love of both of ours!! I should get back to some quilting but knitting has taken over since I learned a year and a half ago, was working on a quilt for DH for our anniversary and it never got finished LOL. Maybe one day!! (enabling-ewe)

  2. I think your project turned out soooo cute!

    Just so you know, the links to the free patterns on Julia Allen's “Peony Knits” site no longer work. However, I did find her circular shrug for free in the Ravelry pattern library. Here is a link: http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/circular-shrug#

  3. That is so cute! I want to make one now!

Leave a Reply

