A little bit of this and, a little bit of that, makes a little bit of me.

Reason I am Happy Today


A beautiful nature walk after a night of rain

Mushroom Galore

and a moment to sit and enjoy this lace:

PROJECT SPECS (More here, here, here, here, here, and here)
CAST ON:
February 17, 2010
BIND OFF: February 28, 2010 (Approximately 30 hours in knitting and spinning time.)
PATTERN: Panama Shawl by Monika Eckert
MATERIAL: 1100 yards, 115 grams, of my own hand-spun Llama Wool blend ($18 for 12-oz combed top;) and 31 specialty beads.
NEEDLES: 3.75mm
MEASUREMENTS: 32″x64″ relaxed
MODIFICATIONS: 1) 3-stitch salvage edges instead of 2. 2) Knit through back loop of center stitch. 3) Completed only Parts 1 through 6 and finished with Part 6 Edging.

COMMENTS: This is another keeper. My lace shawl have been painted in Wilton’s Icing (Violet, Burgundy, Kelly Green, and Rose/Copper/Brown,) heat-set in the microwave for a total of 6 minutes (over a 2-minute increment,) and cool for at least 6 hours…before being stabbed with long skinny wooden dowels and slightly stretched. I really do love this experiment and was pleasantly surprised with the unpredictable results. The single-ply lace turned out beautifully and is the perfect spring and summer accessory. My final dimensions after blocking were 74″ x 37″. The lace shawl is very light and airy. You would hardly know you had it on–it’s so light! Next time I knit this again, I would go down two needle sizes to fit all 11 parts of the beautiful design, with beaded edging, and in 2-ply hand-spun instead of singles.

I’m in love! Hubby doesn’t like the idea of sharing me–but he’ll get over it. I am head over heals in love and there is no remedy. Hand-dyeing my own fiber, yarns, and finished objects like the lace shown above is intoxicating. It’s almost disappointing that there is no scandal. I’m not cheating on my husband–just fawning over color and dyeing. I’m so odd.

I really love being my own colorist! How about you? What has made you happy today?

Happy crafting and keep those creative juices running!


(still doesn’t do texting, MySpace, Facebook, Twitter, StumbleUpon, DiggIt…)

Comments on: "Reason I am Happy Today" (2)

  1. What a great job you did! Dyeing a finished object is done surprisingly seldom. You've provided a great example of why it might be a really good idea.

    The colors are beautiful and you applied them with great artistry. Be proud!

  2. Love your inspiring blog! Amazingly respecting 52 projects for every week of the year! Is it some kind of challenge?

Leave a Reply

