A little bit of this and, a little bit of that, makes a little bit of me.


Reason to dye…because I want to. Why not? I want to become my own colorist and personalize my work and expand my creative potential. Here is my first entry for Event Downhill Dyeing:
Wilton Dyeing in Slow Cooker Black Phase 2Hand Dyed in Wilton 8 oz Targhee
4-oz Pin Drafted Romeldale by Bel Tine Farm
in Wilton Black, slow cooker method

I got the natural white braid at Sock Summit 2009 for $8 and am quite pleased with the hand-dyeing outcome. I can’t wait for them to be dried and put my hand and spindle on the roving!

When I want a very even solid color, I start the yarn out in cold water with just dye–no vinegar. Heat it. When it reaches ~150°F, add vinegar and dip fiber up and down a couple times, rotating the hank so every section gets equally fluffed and dipped. Then, let the pot heat up to 180°F and keep it there for 30 minutes ’til the dye fully exhausted. This method has worked very well.

Somewhere along the way I lost my momentum with the lace.  I have been six rows away from finishing part 2 of 11 for two days.  I know once I pick it back up, it will be finished…not without some strategy restructuring.  Instead of one part a day, I will need to knit two.  There would not be room to fit other entry in Ravelympics2010 events.  Bummer.  What are your goals for the Ravelympics?

Stood before the Ravelympics2010 podium earlier today were delightfully twisted spinners–and yours truly–who have plied our way to glory, receiving proudly:

Ravatar bouquet of fibery fluff from the Bobbin’ Bobicii
and

medal from Head of International Ravelympics Committee
Adonis Dionysius Bobicus Maximus

Let rise drink into the very fiber of our being the Ravelry International Anthem as the crowd spins to the left, and spins to the right, going absolutely batty!!! And what’s this???!!! They’re joining into a line and doing that new dance rage The Drive Band Conga!!! What a sight!!!

Now…back to more spinning…and knitting.

Happy crafting and keep those creative juices running!


(still doesn’t do texting, MySpace, Facebook, Twitter, StumbleUpon, DiggIt…)

Leave a Reply

