A little bit of this and, a little bit of that, makes a little bit of me.


Second pair of French Press Slippers were fulled and shaped this morning. The result was impeccable.
French Press Slippers #2 Right Pair Sz 6 to 7
The pair on the right is the one completed fulled by hand, over hot soapy water

The lips on the heels however came out way to short (why have them at all?) Overall, these slippers are so-so. If I have to modify them, honestly, I much rather knit my own versions. (this and this) It’s just my personal experience…well, at least I tried it, not once, but twice 😀

I do have a thing for buttons…someday, I’ll show you the whole button stash. This one is Belle by Dritz, made in Spain. Can you believe it retails at $8.95 a button…but, it’s so darn cute!
Belle Buttons BB433 by Dritz $8.95 each
It sure makes this JHB button a real bargain
JHB 1857 Buttons $3.59 for 2
A pack of two for $3.59
As promised, here is a first take of my hand-painting Oak and Acorns, aka Frosted Ferns by Herbert Niebling, with Jacquard Dyes in Blue, Teal, Purple, Burgundy, Gold and Olive:

I ran out of time helping others with their experiments on Saturday. So, mine didn’t get heated until late that evening. I microwaved it for 10 minutes (at 2-minute increments) and let it sat overnight, all day Sunday and through the night. By Monday, all the dyes have been absorbed. There was not a drop of runny color when rinsed. Next time, I’ll need a bigger surface to lay it completely flat and keep dyes under control. I will spot-paint the leaves and acorns over when the weather is warmer. For now, this will suffice.

Another lesson learned: Do not spin it in a front-load washer for too long if you don’t want it felt.

Happy crafting and keep those creative juices running!

Comments on: "Handpaint with Jacquard: Oak and Acorns aka Frosted Ferns" (2)

  1. It looks BEAUTIFUL!!!!

  2. ooooooooooooohhhhhhhhhhhh …
    can you hear me sigh ?
    What beautiful colors evolved! I liked it “natural” as well, but now the sigh is more audible.
    A truly beautiful piece. Your home will be a haven of lace blankets by the end of the year…

Leave a Reply

