A little bit of this and, a little bit of that, makes a little bit of me.


Mother Nature delivered another cold air and snow quite a bit, earlier in the week, as hubby and I celebrated our 15th anniversary (and his birthday!) with snow on the ground–and blowing harshly all over us. Today, I realized another pair of warm, fuzzy cozies (improvement from this and this) to protect against the chill is inviting. Plus, it may be just the project to get me back on my knitting bandwagon. Lets hope so.
Easy Felted Slippers V.3 Heel Flap
I love these penny-loafer slippers–very QUICK to knit up with each slipper in one piece and only two teeny gartered stitches to seam up, perfectly shaped and molded to my little feet. For some, the lips on the heels maybe too short to desire. But, this is the kind of slippers I grew up wearing around the house as a child. And so did dad, mom, brother, uncles, aunts, cousins…fond memory.

The fulling was entertaining with satisfying result too. I did it while taking a hot shower at the club and giving myself an hair treatment. With just enough of hot water to cover the slippers and a drop of body shampoo in a plastic bag, I kneed, I stumped, I whacked, I rolled it every which way for about 30 minutes, with a few reloads of hot water. It was even better than I’d have felted them in the front-loader. Another childhood memory: it was how my mom and I washed our clothes–without hot water.


The shaping was somewhat unorthodox…club members were curious about why I had my slippers on while, what appeared to them, stretching the hamstring and calf and pacing back and forth. Hubby may have to videotape it for a good laugh. We’ll see…

V.4 will have more height on sides and lips. I envision a pair in every color I can find in my stash…and one must be a Size 13 that fit the man of the house.

That’s a wrap for January, folks–FO #10 of 52in52-20103833 yards knit in the first month. See you in February…oh, that would be tomorrow 😀

Happy crafting and keep those creative juices running!

Comments on: "52in52-2010 Challenge: #10 January Wrap Up:" (2)

  1. Sarah, do you have any notes or pattern for these? Greatly appreciate, Iryna

  2. Love your slippers! If you ever feel inclined to document a tutorial or even give a general pattern of sorts, I would love to make some!

Leave a Reply

