A little bit of this and, a little bit of that, makes a little bit of me.

Sewing Matters


Have you ever been in a situation where you are either sewing or dreaming about sewing. I am back from a rather short trip to Jo-Ann’s this morning with my teen (who is designing her own clothes) to pick out fabrics, tracing papers, and notions. It’s dangerous when two of my girls are involved in 4H Sewing…because I can’t stop splurging myself
Elliptic Grace Sari
And now, I so desperately want to drop everything and make a drapery coat, suitable for spring and summer in this glorious Elliptic Grace Sari–for its comfort and beauty.

pretty…but most likely not this one for moi.
On a different note, I saw this challenge listed in the latest newsletter from my local quilt shop The Stitchin’ Post and thought I’d pass it along:

There is a link to free pillowcase patterns. The promotion is running through 2010. I am very excited about participating and hopefully my girls and her 4H Sewing Club would too. Won’t you quilters and seamstresses–regardless your level of expertise–join in for some sewing fun and for a great cause? And spread the words…

EDITED: Thanks Kristin for sharing the fun hot dog method of sewing up pillowcases speedily. I understand it takes 30 minutes or less once you get the hang of them. I’ll give it a try for sure and share it with my 4H girls. Click here (in PDF format) or here for some wonderful instructions by Erica or by KickAss Country Store.

Happy crafting and keep those creative juices running!

Comments on: "Sewing Matters" (2)

  1. The guild is making pillowcases. We learned a great, fast technique called the hot dog method. I'll bet you could find the instructions online. It takes 30 minutes or less once you get the hang of them.

  2. The pattern in small squares patched up together looks very nice and colorful.Is that a quilt in silk?

Leave a Reply

