A little bit of this and, a little bit of that, makes a little bit of me.


Although I do love the bright sun on the snow, I’m wishing for spring these days…dreaming of warmer weather, green pasture, and delicious old garden bushes that one can hardly dissociate.

This airy lace looks like a bit of a handful! It reminds me of the unforgettable, aromatic beauty

…occurs in both the earth and in the colors of the sky…a part of the many changing shades of daily heaven on high. Light violet, lavender…how unique is its special glow, colored in nature in light lilac, amethyst, and airy, purple indigo.

PROJECT SPECS (More here and here)
CAST ON:
January 01, 2010
BIND OFF: January 18, 2010 (Approximately 12 hours in knitting and Blocking time.)
PATTERN: Sagrantino Shawl by Loredana Gianferri
MATERIAL: 808 yards, 176 grams, of Premier Yarns Serenity Sock in Amethyst. The yarn is incredible soft. Best of all is machine washable.
NEEDLES: 4.0mm
GAUGE: 6″x6” unstretched; 6.5″x6.5” stretched, each weighs 5 grams/15 yards
MEASUREMENTS: 24″x84″, blocked with steam-iron
MODIFICATIONS: I simply rearranged the stitches for each row to begin with a Yarn–just a basic pinwheel/hexagon/medallion motif.
COMMENTS:The layout of the motifs can be challenging at times, however, it offers many variables for individuality. Possibility is endless.

Sometimes, if I am very lucky, I knit a lace that is so perfect, so me that it can hardly be described with words, but must be felt to be understood…and this is it.

As I mentioned three weeks ago, I joined in for the 10 in 2010 Shawl Challenge. Frighteningly enough, I’m on track so far…7 more large and 2 small ones to go.

Happy crafting and keep those creative juices running!

Comments on: "10Shawlsin2010 Challenge: Shawl #1 Sagrantino Swirls Soar" (2)

  1. This is beyond words.
    I was speechless when I saw your latest creation, it is a thing of beauty. You asked in your previous posting about where we (readers of your blog) get our inspiration…
    Dear Sarah, where we get inspired is by your projects and a shawl like this one!
    Congratulations!

  2. I am visiting your site today just to feast my eyes!

Leave a Reply

