A little bit of this and, a little bit of that, makes a little bit of me.


Hope everyone had a fabulous Thanksgiving as I had. There has been knitting…and fabulous knitting if I must say so myself. Believe it or not…the Saddled Aran Sweater (now turned into a swing coat) is all knit up. Details will have to wait as I am just unpacking from a week-long travel…there are so many things about the sweater coat I love. Once blocked and with buttons…I will have a more in depth talk with you about this pattern. I love the construction, the saddled shoulders, cable work, bobbles, seed/moss, moss/seed diamond, waist/sleeve shaping, new techniques, and the button holes. But mostly, I love the preliminary try on’s…

Before leaving for the holiday, I left you with a pictorial on Tubular Cast on, the Italian way. I’ve always felt a matching bind off is an important element in a garment’s construction. Tubular bind off with its matching cast on not only forms a beautifully rounded edge, it is a nice change from a regular bound off.

Preceding bind-off, you knit two rows in 1×1 ribbing as you would in double knitting or Tubular Cast on set-up rows:
Row 1: *K1, ytf, S1, ytb; repeat from* around.
Row 2: *Ytf, S1, ytb, K1; repeat from* around.

Now, rearrange knit stitches on a circular or double-point needle (place in front with work facing me) while purl stitches on another needle (place in back .)

Thread a darning needle (dn) with 3x the length of a edge to be bound off and kitchener graft the stitches together as follows:
To start off, bring dn through 1st stitch on front needle as if to purl and leave the stitch on.

Bring dn through 1st stitch on back needle as if to knit, and leave the stitch on the needle.

Step 1 Front needle: Bring dn through 1st st on front needle as if to knit and slip the stitch off the needle.

Bring dn through next stitch on needle as if to purl and leave the stitch on the needle.


Step
2 Back needle: Bring dn through 1st stitch on needle as if to purl and slip the stitch off the needle.

Bring dn through next stitch on back needle as if to knit and leave the stitch on the needle.


Later picture shown stitches done back-to-back

Repeat Steps 1 and 2 until all stitches have been worked off.

A quick and easy way to memorize the steps:

Front needle: Knit off, purl on
Back needle: Purl off, knit on

It takes longer to bind off (flat and in-a-round;) but, the finishing is much nicer, springy, than other methods (including my favorite EZ-Sewn Bind Off.) This version is good for sock cuffs and other things that have negative ease since it really wants to be the size of slightly stretched ribbing rather than the size of totally pulled-in ribbing. After watching my favorite 9-minute video on this practical technique, get some needles, a bit of yarn, and have at it. Most importantly, have fun. Knitting is my retreat.

Another stretchy, loose, and elegant bind-off used on the sweater coat’s pocket ribbing was the icelandic method. Though the video clip here is only 36 seconds, it is really all you need to acquire this technique. I learned about it in Myrna Stahman’s Shawls and Scarves book:
*K 2nd stitch through first stitch’s loop. Sl both stitches off left needle together. Put new stitch on right needle back on left needle and repeat from * till 1 stitch left.

That’s all, folks. Until next time…happy crafting and keep those creative juices running!

Comments on: "What comes after Tubular Cast On…Tubular Bind Off" (2)

  1. An heirloom Aran cardigan, for sure! I knitted one in 1967 and I still wear it in winter – so imagine how long you will be able to enjoy it! I love the purple. Makes it even more special. Also the historical content of the pattern is so interesting, isn't it? You did well to make it coat-length, it doubles the occasions for use! I wish I had thought of that way back then 😉
    Beautiful and skillful work.
    Laura

  2. Anonymous said:

    thank you for sharing this tubular bind-off technique. I am a huge fan of tubular cast-on, so I will be saving this post to refer back to frequently. I enjoy reading your blog very much.
    Blogless Mary Lou

Leave a Reply

