A little bit of this and, a little bit of that, makes a little bit of me.


This is it! I knew I must knit this bulky cable knit, hooded cardigan vest from Fall issue of Knitscene the moment I saw it–a single cable over each shoulder and short, cap sleeves make this the cutest hoodie ever (reminds me of last year’s Central Park Hoodie.) Interestingly, there aren’t really sleeves per se, just ribbing straight off the armholes. Made with chunky yarn in Size 10 needles, Heather Hoodie Vest should be going along pretty quickly. In a day’s worth, I have both front, back, and part of the hoodie pieces done…am plugging along nicely, but, with ideas swirling around my head. Slipping all edge stitches made seaming really easy, seamed shoulders with a three-needle bind-off.


The hoodie is a deceptively simple, straight forward, and pleasurable knit–the cable pattern is beyond easy. It looks far more complicated than it actually is! The result is absolutely classic. All those stretchy, forgiving cables make the hoodie vest a versatile piece that would flatter a variety of body shapes. This would make a good project for a knitter looking to make his/her first sweater.

The yarn is soft and luscious, but a little sheddy. A word of caution: very easy pattern–-but be careful, the end result is slightly Flintstonesque–-or is it just me? In any case, it’s boxy since I opted out waist shaping. I trust blocking will take care most of the issue. I need to find some toggle buttons for this everyday garment.

One very big smiley face for this knit so far. Thanks Debbie for such a wonderful pattern. I am grateful for Ravelry. It keeps me inspired to knit.

Happy crafting and keep those creative juices running!

Comments on: "Heather Hoodie Vest in Progress" (2)

  1. Hey Sarah – where can I get this pattern for the Heather Hoodie vest. It is just darling. Can you give me a link or a way I could get it?

    choustonsac@hotmail.com

  2. Cheryl, here is my finished post which included the pattern specs and link to that magazine issue
    http://fairystitch.blogspot.com/2009/11/cable-loves-blue-sky-heather-hoodie-not.html

Leave a Reply

