A little bit of this and, a little bit of that, makes a little bit of me.

Handspun Lacey Moebius


You know addiction is a such a hard thing to live with…constant cravings…sudden urges…impulses…restrictions…diets, and binges. You know what I mean, sometime or another, you have had an addiction. My latest addiction isn’t an illegal one, nor drinking or eating, but spinning,


hand painting, and dyeing fiber (posted here.) preferably silk, merino, or the blend…I’ll settle for properly processed Suri Alpaca any day. Kid Mohair is fabulicious. Angora and Cashmere are delicious. Oh, mine, I can’t never ever get over dozed in my choice of drug. Besides, there is no amount of intervention could help.

Back to spinning…Core spinning novelty yarns isn’t difficult but wasn’t love at first sight either. I am thrilled I went through the exercise at Sarah Anderson’s 3-hour DESIGNING FOR SPINNING Class on October 30, 2009 at Spin Off Autumn Retreat (SOAR.) Now, I’m head over heels over the texture, look, feel, and the newly acquired tool in my future play.


41 yards of cobweb singles, weighed 12 grams, corespun with purple cotton thread
For core spinning, I used plain or multicolored Sulky thread (or crochet cotton yarn) and fiber. Batts are superb. Roving and combed top work sweetly. I’d love to ply some with metallic/rainbow threads in the future, making it sparkly and fun, or maybe some crazy curly and springy–Medusa’s Hair?


A bit tedious, but so worth it. I absolutely adore the outcome, don’t you?
Here is an exercise in Fractal spinning–a method for controlling the color in painted roving–I learned it at Judith MacKenzie-McCuin’s workshop in Hood River back in August 2009. Judith had us split the palindromic color sequence (ABCBAABCBA) roving between the 2 ABCBA, spin, and ply two singles together. I am still rusty at this new acquired tool and need more practice opportunities…after hand dyeing some variegated rovings. I plan to split another roving between the 2 ABCBA sequences and will spin one of the plies as is, then split the rest of the roving along the whole length in order to get shorter color repeats. Plying the two together should create a nice effect…time will tell.

Not crazy about the color initially…it’s beautiful when morphed into Lacey Moebius.
PROJECT SPECS
CAST ON:
November 7, 2009
BIND OFF: November 7, 2009
PATTERN: Cashmere Moebius Cowl by my favorite designer, Cat Bordhi
MATERIAL: 145 yards, weighed 30 grams, of Handspun JMM HandDyed Variegated BFL 2-Ply and 20 yards, weighed 6 grams, of Handspun SOAR 2009 Golden Spice Merino Corespun Spiral 2-Ply
NEEDLES: Size 7
MODIFICATION: I did a picot bind off, which gave it a nice stretchy finishing it needs in a cowl (just mho.) Live shots will be forthcoming…
COMMENT: Another quick cowl knit. My next one would knit same on both sides. I am very pleased with pairing of the pattern and handspun BFL.

Happy crafting and keep those creative juices running!

Comments on: "Handspun Lacey Moebius" (2)

  1. I was gone for a week only and look what WONDERFUL projects appeared on your blog since then!
    If you ever think of selling this particular Moebius – let me know! I just love it. And the picot edge adds so much style.

  2. Beautiful! Just goes to show, you don't know what it will look like when it is knit up. I think the yarn is beautiful, too though.

Leave a Reply

