A little bit of this and, a little bit of that, makes a little bit of me.

Meet Mazurka!


Geez, I’ve gone insane. I’m just in a time warp where days and months have lost all meaning. YEAYYYY. For months, I kept telling myself I won’t want one and I certainly don’t need one. And, if I did, Polonaise would be the one. So, what did I do this afternoon? I brought home this top-notch, novel wheel-within-a-wheel, graceful dancer from Crooked River Ranch

My petite Mazurka, as well as her matching stool, is literally brand new. Except for the shipping box and a video, everything is still intact from the Polish manufacturer: three 4-oz Mahogany-stain bobbins, two whorls with ratios 6, 8, 10 and 12 to 1, threading hook, tensioned/arched Lazy Kate, distaff/nostepinne, and even a bottle of spinning oil. She had been spun in for only a few minutes when assembled and sat in a corner, totally neglected for a year. Not only is she super functional and cute, this 9-pounder is really a super buy–not for $589, but $225! The 5-pound carded Alpaca rovings alone, which came with the deal, cost more than that!

True hues is in RICH EXPRESSO not as light as pictured
How can I say NO to this awesome too-good-to-be-true package? When I have some time, I’ll give this lady a good clean, wax, and buff for optimal shine and performance.

That’s not all. Jenny Sturdy, a high school junior, raises alpacas as a 4Her. She has a growing flock of 20 darling Alpacas in assorted colors. I am fortunate to buy these two Second-Place winning blankets (at 2009 CRR County Fair) for just $30. They are even better than some premium fleeces I’ve seen at recent fiber festivals. I plan to spin them in the grease like I did before and start some serious stranding work in the winter months 😀


I am in heaven!

Happy crafting and keep those creative juices running!

Comments on: "Meet Mazurka!" (3)

  1. Wow, it's a beauty! How many does that make?? I finally got to go to that aplaca place in the Hood River Valley. It's a nice store, but all I bought was a magazine. Most of the yarns are ones I've seen before and they only had one color of alpaca fleece roving. I've got quite a bit of alpaca right now, so didn't need more. It's worth a stop if you're in the area, but I wouldn't make a special trip for it.

  2. Wow, congratulations! That is a great deal, and it's so lovely, too.

  3. This is a beautiful Spinrad, congratulations. I also have a Kromski-Spinrad ……..

    Best regards,
    Perleszauberwolle

Leave a Reply

