A little bit of this and, a little bit of that, makes a little bit of me.


Things have been crazy around here. Crazy of my own making. The thing is, I’d rather be overwhelmingly busy than bored. So, remind me of this in February when I have nothing going on. I alluded in an earlier post that I had actually been knitting and, now, here is the proof:

CAST-ON: October 7, 2009
CAST-OFF: October 8, 2009 (1/2 day)
PATTERN: Adaptation of ROBOT HAT by Margaret Sharp
MATERIAL: 42 yards of Cascade Yarns 220 Heathers, Colorway 9444 (Orange), 109 yards of Caron Country 0024 (Black), and 31 yards of Patons Classic Wool 77223(Lemongrass)
NEEDLES: US 6 (4.25MM)
MEASUREMENT: 22″ Circumference
MODIFICATION: 1) Knit only one robot around instead of various poses. 2) Decrease a stitch at the beginning and end of each wedge decrease row (8 stitches vs 4 stitches decrease.)
COMMENTS: It’s a quick knit. DD#1 wanted one before Halloween. She picked out the fibers and colors but thinks I’d knit it faster than she could 😀 You see, she is my enabler. Her choice in color play is remarkable. I have so much to learn from her. It’s probably a tad looser than my girl would like, but, she didn’t complain. It’s good. I am knitting another one with more changes.

Winter attire can sometimes mean drab colors, but fair isle patterns are a sure-fire way to brighten up your outfits! With intricate details and bold colors, nobody can deny your hat is a classic. I am partial to fair isle knitting, intarsia, and cable designs if you haven’t noticed 😀

These two were made by my 13-year-old…the Prep School Beanie by Christabel Seneque isn’t perfect, but not too shabby for her first attempt in Fair-Isle technique all on her own. The second ribbed hat is The Player by Bonne Marie Burns. Both are free patterns on Ravelry.

With hard freeze in the forecast and snow on the way, it’s time for mittens, socks, and scarves.

Happy crafting and keep those creative juices running!

Leave a Reply

