A little bit of this and, a little bit of that, makes a little bit of me.


Summer’s ending. The Oregon Flock and Fiber Festival (OFFF) was last weekend. After two-day dealing alone with an unexpected scare/crisis caused by my refrigerator, Kristin, my 13-year-old, and I piled into Kristin’s BMW and headed to OFFF on Sunday and had a blast in Canby. What a beautiful day! I still can’t believe how clear the air was. It was a little cool when we left home but by the time we arrived, it was in the mid 80s. An added benefit to the trip was the leaves were starting to turn. I have been looking forward to OFFF for quite some time now, and was not disappointed. If you’re into animals, fiber arts of any sort, or want to learn a new craft, it’s worth you a trip to one, some day…Kumihimo, Japanese braiding, which means the gathering of threads

needle-felting (in the grease?),

spinning,



weaving,


bobbin-lace making,


sock knitting


exhibits that put our county fair to shame



…and more! It’s all about creativity, joie de vie, and fun–and the price is right–free admission, parking, and live music for the whole weekend.

JOY! Rows and rows of vendors, occupying several buildings and large space outdoors, were selling everything fiber beyond my wildest imaginings-–so much lovely, beautiful hand dyed, silk and wool blend, yarns, batts, and rovings, spinning wheels, gadgets, and fleeces-–it seemed that the vendors choose to not only cater the spinners but the hand workers too. I can’t believe there were more vendors here at OFFF than at Sock Summit!



For a few days of visiting, selling, buying, and creating, both patrons and vendors bring their crafts. I went to see new friends, buy some wool for new spinning/felting project proposals to do with COOL, a couple of spinning tools, and more.

My first stop was the Fleece Parking Lot Sale–tons of beauties in there. There were Suri, Alpaca, Angora, Icelandic, Gotland, Romney, Shetland, Jacob, CVM, Columbia and Corriedale. I saw some really beautiful fleece–-when I looked at the price, I came very close to passing out–2 lbs/$100.00. Needless to say that didn’t come home with me. Instead, I did score a nearly 6-pound bag full of Romney fleece for $25

and 3.1 ounces of cleaned rainbow locks of Mohair ($3) for some blending/felting fun

Save your pennies because there are a million cool things to spend them on. The thing I love about fiber fests is learning something new. This time it was bobbin-lace.

Lynda Libby, President of Portland Lace Society, was remarkably, nice, awesome, and fun.
I’m totally digging it, beyond thrilled. I was intrigued by the elaborate bobbins (especially the ivory ones) on the table.

Of course, I have dreams of making a ginormous lace…first thing first, I need to find a local guild to join, get some bobbins, and be content if I can make some sampler…you know how it goes.

And here’s a budding, pimp-up spinner. A girl after my own heart, I loved her set up.


a fun Circa 1800s Saxony Flax wheel for my $5 raffle tickets…obviously I didn’t win.

So happy to see my fiber-friends (Pam, Ruth, Annie, Val…some whose names escaped me) from home and those I met at Judith MacKenzie McCuin’s workshop in August (Mary Alice & her husband Dan, Patty from Eugene vending in one of the buildings, Sharon from PDX KnitBloggers (or, Geesh, was it PDX Spinnerati…part of old age!) Giggles all around…it was A-Mazing, fun surprise.

The stars of the show, sheep judging was going on outside.


Now, you’ve the itch to go to a fiber festival–or two or threeHigh Desert Wool Growers’ Fiber Market Day in March, Black Sheep Gathering in June, Shaniko Wool Gathering in mid-September, and, of course, OFFF are all great candidates.

My personal favorite and most-exciting souvenir from the festival was this amazing vintage Kircher 15.5″ rigid heddle loom won at the silent auction at very last minute. I couldn’t go home without it. The cheapest modern one found on eBay was about $150. So, $80 is a bargain, right. I need to carve four 3/8″ notches to hold the heddle to create a shed while weaving. Otherwise, it’s fully functioning.

a medium-size 1.5-yard Kromski Niddy Noddy ($14)

a handy, dandy $6 yarn gauge that measures for use by spinners and weavers. I can wrap my yarn around it periodically during spinning to check the gauge

another $50 Jenkins in Beechwood, 1.5 ounce (or 43 gram) added to my growing flock of Turkish spindles–all so exquisite.


a set of nice ebony crochet hooks I first saw at Judith MacKenzie McCuin’s workshop in August

a beautiful $132 set of double-row French comb to replace the apparently useless single-row comb set sweet hubby got for me last Christmas

And if that wasn’t enough? My Fricke did not sell at the Sunday Silent Auction.

Instead, I came home with this precious Pipy Wendy from sweet Amelia:

Convinced myself not to include this in my OFFF spending–as the sale was prearranged through Ravelry 😀
a $7 bottle of Schacht spinning oil I so need in my accessory bag

and who can resist this darling, little Red Hat set of 6″-long, size 8, domino needles for $20

Knitting lace edging with this baby is divine!
Of course, alongside all of the people, the barns were full of alpacas, sheep, goats, and bunnies–I was a good girl, though, and didn’t whip out the Debit card and bring one home! I’d rather stay married, seriously! All in all, it was a good day. Though I haven’t given OFFF a good presentation as I got really lazy with the camera–so little time, so many places to see–next year maybe you can come too! For more informative report on the festival, check out MicheleB’s entertaining snippets here. It’s great to be around an entire group of people who are pleasant and friendly-–that seems so rare. Bring your folding chair and plan to stay the day working and learning from the vendors and spinners–all of whom are artists in their own right who love to talk about what they do.

We left the event feeling invigorated and hungry. In the small town of Canby, we stopped in a local Mexican restaurant (where apparently all OFFF goers went for a bite too) and had a great meal. With a stop in Sisters, we were home by 11:00. A brief yet lovely day out indeed. With a OFFF sweater ($20) my daughter purchased, breakfast, and dinner taps, I went over the $500 budget by a meager $147–when cash ran out, my spending stopped. Once you’re on the slippery slope, it’s a long ride.

Next up would be SOAR in Sunriver…can’t wait.

Happy creating!

Comments on: "2009 Oregon Flock and Fiber Festival" (1)

  1. I love your pictures! Nice job celebrating the event. Have fun in Sunriver; I won't be there but I'm sure it will be wonderful!

Leave a Reply

