A little bit of this and, a little bit of that, makes a little bit of me.

I am Jazzed!!


A few days ago, I bid on an antique wheel on eBay but lost…because I forgot to check on its bidding status. With eBay, it’s a no-no. As it turned out, Carrie’s (aka Jasara on Ravelry) dearest, wonderful fiance knew that she desperately wanted a spinning wheel. He conned her into teaching him how to use eBay on the pretense that he wanted to purchase a super-awesome car part. What he was really doing was shopping for a wedding gift for her. What a sweet man! And he outbid me by $2.50!!

As a consolation, I just drove 5+ hours this afternoon and brought this baby home (not as sweet of a deal as the one above.) But, I am jazzed.

It’s a beautifully maintained Pipy Saxony with a 16” counter-weighted wheel made by Ray Chisholm. The wheel will always stop in the same place.


It spins really fine and smooth even on the 4/1 & 5/1 ratio whorl
after a couple of minutes getting used to the treadling differences.

It comes with 3 5” bobbins and 3 whorls. Two whorls are original whorls made by Pipy and have spin ratios of 6/1, 7/1 & 8/1 and 9/1 , 14/1. The third whorl was custom made for previous owner by Ron Antoine of Amity and has a 4/1 & 5/1 spin ratio. It matches the wheel even though it isn’t rimu wood.

I gave it a Tung Oil bath this evening and it looks even prettier.

It fairly glows. I’m hard pressed to want to do much else besides spinning.
Philip Poore’s Pipycraft and Omana Industries were bought by Ray Chisholm (maker of my Pipy above) in early ’80s. He operated the combined business briefy from Howick and then from Pakuranga (both suburbs of Auckland) until August 1987 when it was sold to Ashfords. Hopefully, I can get some more bobbins and parts for my Pipy through Ashford.

Happy creating!

Leave a Reply

