A little bit of this and, a little bit of that, makes a little bit of me.

Spun Stitches…Percy Shawl


Wistful. That is how I feel mostly. A feeling of wistfulness pervades much of my knitting in both choice of pattern and yarns. I wish for a time gone by that was simpler and passed more slowly. A time when sitting on a garden bench to simply enjoy the surrounding beauty was common place.

I seem to be still in lace mode–theme of my knitting–like a squirrel gathering nuts for the impending winter. Only I am gathering fine roving to spin lace! (Boy, did I catch a serious spinning bug especially post-Sock Summit!) I have a line up in Ravelry queue that will keep me knitting all fall and into the winter. I love triangular-style scarves that have been flooding onto Ravelry for months. Yesterday, I started a modular lace made up of gorgeous Estonian stitches in my handspun yarns.

My Sixth From sheep to shawl:

CAST ON: September 2, 2009
CAST OFF: September 3, 2009
PATTERN: Sanne Kalkman’s Percy Shawl
YARN: 121 grams of 2-ply, 514 yarns of my own lace-weight handspun out of four different soft and luxurious chop-suey batts I drum-carded at the Judith MacKenzie McCuin intense workshop last month. It’s spun and plied on the Fricke SD and Turkish lace spindle.
BEADS:384 Size 6 round luminous glass
NEEDLE: US 5, 7, and 10.5
MEASUREMENT: 72″ wing span x 29″ center height
MODIFICATION: The Estonian design presented an interesting construction so not at all boring to knit…spin/ply along for the lace is a major contributing factor, of course. 1) Though I love nupps, I chosen lovely beads for Percy–shimmery in the sunlight–really fun to spin and to knit that I finished it in two days. 2) Knitted backward on Wrong Side so it’s easy to figure out Right and Left Slants in Chart B. 3) Knitted center stitch through its back loop. 4) Switched to Size 7 needles in Chart C. Added 6 more rows to Chart C ended with 317 stitches. 5) Russian lace bind-off in Size 10.5 needles and this time desirable stretchy edge accomplished. Total weight of the lace is 156 grams.

Percy was just perfect…am loving the rich combination perfect for fall and more importantly sweater weather, which is just around the corner. I loved it to pieces but it will probably be gifted to someone special.

For a spinnerati, I like lace weight for making shawls that is drapery, not springy. To accomplish such criteria, I spin highly twisted fine singles, then ply them loosely. I can get drapery yarn even with merino if I do it this way.

What’s next…casting on another shawl for a workshop sample…when I locate the missing copy of IK Spring 2009!

Happy creating!

Comments on: "Spun Stitches…Percy Shawl" (5)

  1. The concept of sheep to shawl is awesome! And your shawl is so lovely.

    I just finished my very first spindle spinning. Now I get to ply…

  2. I love the way the shawl wraps around your head and creates a wonderful hood shape! Great job!

  3. I was wondering where you got your Turkish Spindle – it's gorgeous!

  4. I was wondering if your could tell me what type of drum carder that is?

  5. Jennifer, I was trying to reply to your inquiry but there is no link to your profile or email address. Hopefully, you'll check back here or subscribe to RSS feed. The drum carder shown and used at the retreat is by the motorized drum carder made by Judith MacKenzie McCuin's company. I believe it was her earlier prototype–cost over $2K…but, boy, was it sweet!!!!! I dream to have one some day…Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

