A little bit of this and, a little bit of that, makes a little bit of me.


Have you tried knitting mitered squares? This mitered knitting gem, also known as Domino Technique, is perfect for color lovers. It gives a freedom to create a truly unique piece. Once you get the hang of them, they are really easy and a load of fun. Since they tend to be small, mitered squares are ultra portable. What makes a mitered square so unique is that you cast on the number of stitches for the sides and then decrease stitches in the middle, creating an interesting ridge in the square until there are no more stitches remaining. Voile! Square completed.

To join a row of mitered squares together without seams is easy. Cast on twice the number of stitches for a square–first half in one color and second half in another. Remember to twist the two strands where they meet each row, like you would in intarsia knit. Purl the next row and proceed normally for a basic mitered square. It’s really this easy.

Keep a close eye as you near the end of the decreases. Last couple of rows seem to want to knit smaller, causing corner of a square to look rounded. Experiment with changing colors in the squares. It is normal for upper diamond edges to look a little uneven or distraught, like me in the morning. Don’t worry…it’ll be blocked or joined to another square. One thing that helps tidy up a bit is to slip the first stitch on each row.

Dreaming of all the mitered thangies I can knit (like a vest or a bag)…manipulating placement of the patches for different optical illusion effect…I am totally enamored with mitered squares. Here’s the first success sample of joining squares together without seam:

I love it so much more than the previous patch seaming up…
plan to add rows of dark hues for a finishing border frame,
dazzled with crystal, glass, lampwork, or mixture of beads.
If you are ready for a little more adventure, try a simple mitered corners dishcloth like this one. Enjoy…it’s addictive.

I love the process of knitting. It puts my mind in a different space. I pick up my knitting and answers to unasked questions come to me. Knitting helps me sort things out—-and not just in my rare swatch or frequent experiment–but in my mental filing and sorting. Really, knitting is all about learning basic skills and simple techniques, learning to manage needles and yarn, learning to work with color. I want to get other knitters doing what I really enjoy—-techniques of creating with color, be it intarsia, Fair Isle, or my current favorite, mitered knitting, like this Windmill Seamless Sling (#4 for DD#2)

If you follow your bliss, doors will open that don’t exist.

Happy creating!

Comments on: "Mitered or Domino Knit Infatuation: SquareAfghan" (1)

  1. Anonymous said:

    I love your articles, could you lead me to some good sources for mited squares? I love the design at the top of the column and would love to figure out how to do something like it.
    Carol

Leave a Reply

