A little bit of this and, a little bit of that, makes a little bit of me.


Good morning, wonderful crafters! I’m excited to say Mommes Lysedug is ready for its debut, sporting around town. It’s just everything I thought it would be…rich, detailed, light, airy yet substantial all at the same time. And, as you see from few photos, my 8-year-old really loves it too–COOL, MUM, it’s not itchy! A word of caution: It’s hard enough when you catch the lace bug…now with both the blanket and lace bugs, it’s difficult to break free. More lace blankets, in rustic wool, are in the work for fall and winter months.

START: June 8, 2009
FINISH: June 13, 2009 (Actual Knitting: 4 days)
PATTERN: Mommes Lysedug by Christine Duchrow
MATERIAL: 9.1 skeins (865 yards) of Lily Sugar’n Cream Stripes 23143 (Country Stripes) Sadly, last few balls are different than first batch used–they were the reason I chose it in the first place. Latter balls were much pale in comparison. I’ll pay more attention next time when using this brand.
NEEDLES: US 10 (6.0MM) and 7 (4.5MM)
MEASUREMENT: 58″ blocked; 48″ pre-block
COMMENTS: Design is awesome. Pattern is well written. I’d have preferred it charted. Overall, it’s a quicky, easy, fun, and enjoyable knit to keep me interested. Blocking is easy peasy even…just follow the points.
MODIFICATION: Picot Bind-Off in smaller needle–very slow process but worth every bit of time spent. Scalloped edging added a special touch of sweetness I so adore.

Here are some shots of my favorite Summertime aka Springtime Swirl:



Hope you become inspired to knit some lace this month. I’d LOVE to see your works in progress or finished lace objects!!!

Happy creating!

Comments on: "Blanket Statement: Mommes Lysedug and Springtime Swirl" (2)

  1. What shimmering surprises presented your blog today! Such exquisite lace work – and done in such a short time – you are an artist par excellence!

  2. Beautiful Sarah! I also would love to make some of the lace blankets in heavier wool like Jared Flood has been doing. I hope I'll have the time this fall!

Leave a Reply

