A little bit of this and, a little bit of that, makes a little bit of me.


Practise what you know, and it will help
to make clear what now you do not know.
~~Rembrandt Harmenszoon van Rijn

Knitting a sweater is quite a project to undertake and I want it to be pretty certain that I will end up with something I like…A sweater that fits and is attractive.

In my humble opinion, the most important detail of a knit garment is the fiber. I’d never knit a light summer sweater out of thick scratchy wool. I’d want a rugged, every day sweater to be made out of something durable and easy to clean. Most important of all…I like my yarns to be nice to touch, smell and feel. After all, I’m going to be handling it for hours and hours while I knit. I want my knitting experience to be pleasant.

Though titled Winter Wonderland, my silky soft coat in Silk, Alpaca, and Merino, is light and drapery–perfect for the Spring and Summer days here in the High Desert.

PROJECT SPECIFICATION:
Days Taken: 6 days (would have been less if I didn’t misread the chart layout and tinked back 66 rows to the beginning of the back piece on the first day.)
Pattern: Winter Wonderland Coat by Michele Rose Orne
Yarn: 4 skeins each of Araucania Aysen 813 and 815, approximately 1500 yards
Needles: US 5 and 7
Buttons: 2 Packs of LaPetite #285 and 2 sets of hooks & eyes
Shoulder-to-Shoulder: 15”
Bust: 32”
Waist: 30”
Shoulder-to-Waist: 14”
Sleeves: 17” from Cast-on to Armhole Shaping Germain-Twist Cast-on sleeves 2-at-a-time in 4.5mm needles. Switch to 3.75mm needles for chart knitting. Side increase began on Row 69. Switched back to 4.5mm needles on Row 70. Armhole bind-off began when pieces measure 17″ from Cast-on edge.
Shoulder-to-Cuff: 22”
Modification: Moss-stitched collar in 813 Deep Blue/Purple. I tried Eye of the Partridge and Knit One Below in lieu of stockinette stitch where instructed. The gauge for front and back pieces didn’t match up. Surprisingly, it wasn’t a struggle for me to unravel. I am improving LOL. There was some initial concern about gauge as the diagram shows 25” width and mine was over 26”. Instead of going down to Size 6 needles, I tightened up knitting a bit at 10th row and it all worked out. Phew! No need to re-enforce shoulders as I chose a lighter weight fiber for the coat.

This is my very first sweater coat that is knitted in pieces. How I dread about seaming them all up! I can envision so many different ways to form knitting yarn around the human body and this is not one of them. There are a million ways to knit a sweater from the bottom up. Almost all of my projects/designs are knit-to-fit all in one piece.

One thing I’d really like to try next is saddle-shoulder knit from the bottom up (instead of top down.) What this means is that the sweater isn’t shaped all the way to the very top. Instead, I stop about the collar bone, knit the sleeves, and then join them all together with a lively knitted band. It is a load of fun to do! And the shape will fit nicely too.

I devoted April my Finishing month. Check back soon for my next revived WIPs.

Happy creating!

Leave a Reply

