A little bit of this and, a little bit of that, makes a little bit of me.


Art translates into many languages. I hope to speak them all.

I have been a bad, bad naughty girl. This triangle shawl pattern grabbed me by the neck and said KNIT ME NOW. What could I do? Intricate lace and beads…what’s not to like? I felt in love with it as soon as I saw it on the cover of Knitty.com Spring 2009 Edition last week. It’s another basic triangle shawl, like Fountain Pen or Peacock Shetland Lace, starting from center neck edge, down and out.

My choice of color has nothing to do with the Mohave desert, aeolian erosion, curving organic sculpture from desert rock…or alike. I simply long to put these beautiful ocean blue waves to use–-a project to show it off with matching beads…to finish in time to welcome Spring. I am going after a full shawl version and cast on this evening, beads and all. It adds a classy designer’s touch to the wear.

Material: Royale Classic Crochet Thread, 100% Mercerized Cotton, Size 10 Grosseur Tamanos, Ocean Color (0995)
Needles: US 5
Beads: Assorted sizes, 2000+ Sea Breeze (blue, green, and purple) glass in 6/0 & 10/0 weight by Blue Moon and 4MM bicone Crystallized Swarovski Elements by Jolee’s
Progress: 16-row Set Up Chart and 1 repeat of 8-row Yucca Chart completed. The piece measures 12”x6”. Not sure if I will repeat 12 times of Yucca chart at this time.



I like what I am seeing so far.
AUGHGHGHGGH! How do I place beads, you ask? Check out a step-by-step tutorial on slip-knit beading method using bead wire or collapsible eye needle tomorrow. I love the smooth, silky feel of cotton passing through my fingers.

In other knitting progress, Sweet Kerry is hosting another mystery (Ravelry member access only.) This time is a hat. Most of us from the last Manos Silk Wrap Mystery has a bundle of fiber leftover. The hat is a perfect stashbuster utilizing 4 different colors. Clue 1 came out yesterday. Gauge is apparently important. I need to get 5 stitches and 7 rows per inch in stockinette stitch. One knitter said she up sized to US 7 instead of suggested US 5. I got the same gauge in US7. (SH…please don’t tell anyone I did a swatch!!!) But when I knitted up to Row 3 of Clue 1, my width measured 5.5 to 6”??? Rip Rip…restarted in Size 5 and it was a tad snug. Once blocked, I got 5”x3.5” rectangles perfectly per pattern. The cabled texture is fabulous. I see it in a EZ ribwarmer. My teen wants it in her next knitting project after Buttony. Now, I am patiently awaiting next clue (but I’ll be on the road to the valley for spring break!)…Mystery and I have a love/hate relationship. Suspense kills me.

Happy creating!

Comments on: "Another Shawl??? Aeolian and a Hat Mystery KAL" (1)

  1. Love your Shetland Shawlette! So light and airy. Is it your personal pattern? Thank you also for all that useful information you include in your blog! Have a great vacation!

Leave a Reply

