A little bit of this and, a little bit of that, makes a little bit of me.

OwlsNation Fingerless Mitts



“In art the hand can never execute anything
higher than the heart can inspire”
~~Ralph Waldo Emerson

A day late…and a dollar short. That’s how it goes, right? This seems to be my mantra with upkeeping my blogs. This pair of fingerless mittens has been finished since February 6. Started out in US Size 4 circular needles and gradually downsized to 000 in the cuffs, it became a bit of a challenge to knit in Triple Zero needles with Manos Silk Blend. My official teen girl is loving them, silky and snug.
There is a complimentary pattern, like it, for Ravelry members here (member access only). The generous designer, Kerrie James of DestiKnit has asked me to share my gore increase (creating thumb gussets) instruction. Since I didn’t actually follow her pattern, I’ll have to take a look to see how I should incorporate the step-by-steps in it. I won’t get around to it anytime soon as I have a relatively full plate…like getting ready to teach a complimentary 3-week lace class to my knitting group members, finishing up charity afghan blocks, casting on a matching OwlsNation sweater–just like this one except in Cashmerino/Celery, beading, charity quilts, braiding, and mixed media art making. The Owls sweater has been in queue for my daughter’s birthday. Sadly, I am exhausted after stitching on more beady eyes for the mittens…It’ll come…just not now.

Here is another Create-As-I-Go:
Can you guess what it is? More pictures and answer will be revealed soon as it should be off the needles in next few days, I hope.

Happy creating!

Leave a Reply

