A little bit of this and, a little bit of that, makes a little bit of me.


Happy are the painters
for they shall not be lonely.
Light and colour, peace and hope,
will keep them company to the end of the day.
~~Winston Churchill

From start to finish, this 43″x43″ Create-As-I-Go OpArt piece took less than a week to knit up. It’s the small, portable project I kept on hand to knit at my teen’s rehearsals, competitive recital, appointments, car rides, while waiting in line at grocery check-outs, watching Coraline in the theatre, and other stolen oddments of time since Wednesday, February 18.

Steek or no steek? Beads or no bead? More designing, self-doubt questions, indecisiveness…while it’s being wet-blocked.

CAST ON: February 18, 2009
CAST OFF: February 23, 2009
PATTERN: My Own inspired by Op Art Movement in the 60s
NEEDLES: 47″ ADDI Turbo Circular US #6 (4.0mm)
YARN: 1000 yards of assorted Lion Brand Wool-Ease Solids & Heathers in Blush Heather #104, Rose Heather #140, Dark Rose Heather #139, Azalea Pink #195, Cranberry #138, and Chestnut Heather #179
COMMENTS: Started a block sampler for my weekly block adventure (which I’ll post soon) and got an idea for a sweater. Once this project’s launched, I wasn’t so sure if the sweater/coat idea would work. Last round before edge increase ended with 504 stitches. Then I increased 120 stitches evenly over last 6 rounds (40 stitches every other round)–totalling 624 stitches in all ready for a 13-stitch, 16-row Danish Knit-on lace edging from my 1877 lace study. All-in-all, it’s a mindless, quick project. Though absolutely loving the color composition, I’m glad to see the textural interest returned once it’s dried from wet-blocking.

I may still steek holes for sleeves and turn it into a sweater/coat…Designing saga continues.

Happy creating!

Comments on: "Pink Vortex Optical Illusion – A Throw or A Wear-It-Out?" (2)

  1. I love it! You are so creative, I just love seeing your unique creations and envy the ease with which you knit. I can’t decide on the throw/wear option either because it would be fabulous as either. Looking forward to seeing what you decide!

  2. Hello, I'am George. Visit my website, if you want to see New Optical Illusion. Thank you and have a great day.

Leave a Reply

