A little bit of this and, a little bit of that, makes a little bit of me.


Another Mystery Knitalong (KAL) commenced on October 1, hosted by Through the Loops in honor of Socktoberfest. Pattern clues are released, in sections, on Wednesdays in October.

10/1/08 Clue 1 Cuff
10/8/08 Clue 2 Leg
10/15/08 Clue 3 Eye of Partridge heel & turn
10/22/08 Clue 4 Foot
10/29/08 Final Clue Toe

Recommended for the project is 100 grams of sock yarn, solid or semi-solid or variegated that isn’t too wild. The Pattern is written in 4 sizes using a 56, 60, 64 or 68 stitch cast on. Knitters have a choice of knitting up a basic or cable pattern.

As I got closer to finishing up my Adirondack Mystery Sockalong yesterday, I cast on 64 stitches for my Socktoberfest mystery socks, in Size Zero magic loop, two-at-a-time. By this evening, I was all caught up. Clue 3 is completed.

Who knows. If I stay on course, I may even win two skeins of Colinette Jitterbug and a copy of Kirsten’s brand-new hat pattern Joni, courtesy of generous Linda. Three winners will be drawn randomly from knitters who finished and posted photos of their KAL socks. Since Kirsten is posting last part of the pattern on 10/29, I have until 11/29 to finish my socks and post a picture. It sounds doable.

The lovely pattern is well-written, designed, and executed. Once the foundation row is set, the rest of the pattern flows naturally, easily memorized. Knitting up is a breeze. Unfortunately, the type of fine-gauge yarn and tiny needles chosen for the sockalong did not show off the glorious eye of partridge heel. Wish I had chosen a mild, variegated yarn instead of this splitty cotton blend!

I’ve been a die-hard, short-row heeler with increased gussets and concealed wrapped stitches (which goes well with being a toe-upper, too.) It’s nice to change it up every now and then; especially if it contributes to the design of the socks. Besides, this type of heel is a lot of fun to knit up and much easier to accomplish for a new sock knitter. So, I may have to start modifying my sock-knitting habits slightly.

I am having lots of fun with these socks and am eager for next clue. In the interim, I am itching to cast on another pair of Mystery Sockalong started back in September. Main criterion is at least 75% of the socks has to be in Orange. So, what am I waiting for?

Happy creating!

Comments on: "Socktoberfest 2008 TTL Mystery Knitalong" (1)

  1. Love the cuffs!I have stopped knitting socks lately. Too many men’s sweaters =)…but, now, since I had to sit and wait for 3 hours for my blood tests, I started a nice little lacy scarf for my mom. I am excited to finally venture into the colorful things I like =).You know, we have been discussing homeschooling with my husband a lot….we actually have always considered it and now that we are on the “verge” of having to make a decision, we are trying to make up our minds…where do you get your teaching material? What do you recommend?…We love Waldorf, if we were not able to homeschool our kids..…any good suggestions or comments? and do you know many homeschoolers in the Sisters area? we would love to find children around the same age as ours so that they can grow together and have playmates too =)Happy KAL knitting!PS We should get together sometime! and perhaps do some spindle spinning!…or dyeing!

Leave a Reply

