A little bit of this and, a little bit of that, makes a little bit of me.


(Picture left were two clay bowls my 10-year-old and I made when we were camping at Olallie last weekend.) Sometimes in the run of a day, one wishes she could share things with others. Sometimes it is good news you share with your family. Sometimes it is work related that you share with co-workers. Today, I wish to share some kitchen knits that I have no one around who would appreciate them! So I am going to share with you.

Before I left for camping last weekend, I purchased a copy of Mason-Dixon Knitting: Outside the Lines. Contrary to few negative reviews, I find the book right in my alley and has quite a bit of inviting projects I like to make for gifts and my home. I decided to get my feet wet with some swifter covers and hanging towel last night. They are fun, mindless, left plenty of rooms to modify/personalize, and fast knits.


And, these little goodies–from my Amigurumi adventure–are hard to keep around:

another cupcake not in the picture was given away as soon as it was created.
This is my first Mystery Dishcloth Knitalong (KAL). I cast on on September 5 and caught up with past released clues (1-5) just before leaving for a two-week family retreat to the coast. It has been in hibernation since then due to group moderator Cora away nurturing herself back to health. No more clue has been released for a month. Yesterday, I decided it’s time to get the cloth off the circular needle for projects out of the new Mason-Dixon Knitting book showed above. Based on my study of previously released clues (1-5), it didn’t take long to finish the cloth. I even shared details with the group. I am very proud of the accomplishment in writing out the rest of the pattern. The cloth is beautiful and pleasant to knit up fast and furiously. It’s been added to my gift-making list for spa cloth, modified hand towel, etc.

Mystery KAL is more addictive as I realize. I love finding random groups on Ravelry to join. I have joined over 130 groups in four months–holy cow! The latest one found is this Adirondack Mystery KAL. I’ve signed up to do its third KAL which could be for fingerless mitts or socks. Although I am knitting socks, I plan to knit a pair of fingerless mitts too.

Don’t you just love the inside-out look–reversible??
I cast on my first pair of Mystery KAL socks, two-at-a-time, in two circular Size 0 needles, on September 18. Instead of using Tofutsies, recommended yarn for the mystery sock project, I chose Kaffe Fassett-Inspired Regia and am very pleased with the outcome.
Clue 3 came out yesterday but I couldn’t picture how it could work by following the instruction, based on my experience in short-row heels. This morning, a correction was in the inbox after my inquiry. I love the ridge heels that make reversible socks even more appealing. THANKS, KERRY, for a beautiful and thoughtful design!

Fall is a perfect time for making all things felted/fulled. Here is a beautiful hat my friend Carolyn made recently:

Thank you, my friend, for inspiring and motivating me in my own pursuit.
Happy creating!

Leave a Reply

