A little bit of this and, a little bit of that, makes a little bit of me.

Your Face Turned Purple Yet?


Well, since my last appearance, it’s been quite some time. Who knew “stay tuned!” meant over a month’s absence? If I had held my breath I’d be purple by now. My knitting is currently ahead of my blogging! I’ve since completed the Rose Wakame Lacy Tunic, two felted Peruvian-like fair isle hats, one of the two Goddess Anniversary KAL Shawls, a pair of fingerless mittens, a ton of crocheted hearts and flowers, leaves for peace, and am currently churning out a California King bedspread, a pair mystery KAL socks. I am heading out to Ollalie near McKenzie Bridge for a 3-day camp out so my time here is brief.

Presenting…this Slanting Shell Stitch pattern, aka Dragon Scale, as it spirals around in opposite directions on opposite hands in these fingerless mitts. It’s beautiful. It’s similar to the Mermaid gloves, aka Pomatomus socks turned fingerless mitts. I tried modifying the gusset to a much neater way of doing the increases, which I normally employed for gloves and mittens, instead of putting a number of designated thumb stitches from the palm on hold. I realize two-third of the way through, the change was unnecessary as the thumb automatically tucks into a natural position because of the spiral stitch pattern cleverly designed by Lynne Vogel, author of Twisted Sisters Knit Sweaters, one of my favorite sweater knitting references. I had no fear, nor did I mind, ripping it out to the cuff. I didn’t want to deal with any possible snafu waiting, some place where the pattern just wouldn’t work for the mitts…it didn’t happen; it worked perfectly!


Lynne included instructions for both long and short mitts. The only difference between the two is the number of pattern repeats, worked on two different sizes of needles, in the wrist section of the glove. The long one has 5 repeats (or 50 rounds) while the short one only has 2 repeats (or 20 rounds.) Since the Kureyon Sock yarn used here is at a different wpi and for the short mitts. The gauge naturally differed slightly between the two. I didn’t have to switch to a smaller-size needle at the narrowing at the wrist is not as obvious for this pair.

CAST ON: August 8, 2008
CAST OFF: August 12, 2008
PATTERN: Spirogyra by Lynne Vogel
NEEDLES: ADDI Turbo Circular US #0
YARN: About a third of a skein of Noro Kureyon Sock Yarn in S95
MODIFICATION: German Twisted Cast-on. Sewn-Bind Off.
COMMENTS:Though Kureyon Sock yarn–like other Noro’s–is a bit scratchy and twisty while knitting, I adore the vivid rainbow colors. As a consolation, it’s a quick, one-day portable, addictive project. The two 6-stitch patterns are easy to memorize. Despite the thin fiber, small needles, and lacy pattern, these gloves are very warm and comfy.

Can you tell I’m really excited about these? In fact, my 12-year-old is almost finished with her first pair in gorgeous Manos Silk Blend. It is apparent to me that she too has the process knitter mind. Yesterday, she cast on a pair of long wrist warmers in this pattern, without thumbs, in a slightly larger magic loop. She didn’t come to me for instruction or help second time around. It’s absolutely marvelous-great adaptation!

I am pleased how Wakame Lacy Cotton Tunic turned out and have worn it a few times already. I didn’t block it as I like to keep the textural interest–besides, with cotton, it’ll relax over time naturally. It’s really comfy yet elegant. I’d have loved it finished sooner…When I read blogs about other knitters’ FOs, I am always looking to see how it actually fits on a real person. Sure, just the act of completion is a marvel in itself, but let’s be honest: We want to know how it looks on someone. Each time I tried to rotate these photos for better showing, the textured tunic and I grew in width, not very flattering. Thus, you will just have to tilt your head for this one!


My gauge is a tad smaller but it’s fitting to my liking. Instructions for sleeves were lacking. It just says to increase stitches. After a couple of increases, I realized it didn’t mention to work in pattern. I didn’t unravel 200 stitches for each sleeve (knitting two-at-a-time)–just started matching pattern to photos at that point. No one would notice if I don’t point it out. Grafting/matching up the seams was a breeze. It’s a fantastic, pleasurable design and well-written pattern…and it’s under $30. Wooo-hooo! It is definitely a-ok in my book. And oh, I admit, I did check my reflection a few times to marvel at my own work. Pfffftt…Who wouldn’t?

Here is one of the two Goddess Anniversary KAL Shawls I started a couple of months ago:

It looks pretty darn good, doesn’t it? After hibernation from many 90 to 100+ &deg days in the summer, I spent three days over the weekend to get this off the needles. Towards the end, I felt a bit like I was in the knitting black hole and latter part of CLUE 4 just wasn’t growing. That didn’t last long…by 5 am on Monday, I was finally done. It may be hard to see the intricate lace works because of the distracting, strong colorways in Kureyon Sock yarns. But, for those fortunate to see its debut, thank you for all the encouraging compliments. I’m ready to pull out Shawl #2…

There are more I’d love to show…but I’m running out of time. Kids are rushing me in the background impatiently. Hopefully, I will have more time upon return. Enjoy the glorious Autumnal days.

Happy creating!

Leave a Reply

