A little bit of this and, a little bit of that, makes a little bit of me.


Far away there in the sunshine are my highest aspirations.
I may not reach them, but I can look up and see their beauty,
believe in them, and try to follow where they lead.~~Louisa May Alcott

Last night was Bend Knitup, where crafty women, from far and wide (not really), came to rain their creative, amazing knitting on everyone. It was great to see the regulars and those haven’t been around for a while like Shawna and Barbara who is sadly moving. Polly brought a friend who is quite a knitter. We are forever growing…

Well, Shawna was working on her Lizard Ridge last night which reminded me…time to resurrect my twelve blocks hibernating since December (mentioned previously here, here, here, and here.) This morning, I laid them all out and rearranged a few times. This is what I ended up with

I love it when I first saw it here on Knitty.com. While it was fun to master the short-row and knitting backwards techniques–where I apply them frequently in sweater and sock knit–this Kureyon’s long color transformation is not appealing to me. Should I have separated Noro skeins and regrouped them by color? Should I add more spring/summer color to brighten it up a little? The pattern calls for twenty-four blocks in all, some did thirty. Do I really want a big afghan? Or, would a lap blanket be more practical? How about school of fish in between the ridges? Feel free to express your opinion and/or better arrangement…whatever else strikes your fancy. I’m all ears, please!

There’s something to be said for instant gratification. I cast on this, to 60 stitches, last night at Bend Knitup, whirlwind toe-up, two at a time, in size 0 magic loop, (which is starting to be kind of a default for me, I think) continued pattern to foot, probably with eye of partridge heel and picot hem:



This beautiful sock-pattern, with German and English written instruction, photo, and chart, was design by Kristin Benecken as goodies for the Berlin-Zugsocking (knitters came together in a train and knitted sock). Pattern was written with a lot of assumption…that you are well versed in sock anatomy. You get to decide the type of heels and toes for the socks. It is not a mindless project so far. It will take a bit more time to memorize the pattern even with three whole repeat under my belt. (Error found in Row 5 so I moved on to Chart which is my preference anyway.) I think my technique could do with some serious fine tuning and my goal is to come up with a design of my own for this attractive contest, with 26 amateur categories, over $20,000 in prize money, and me winning $6000 if I can Think Outside The SOX…how sweet!!

KnitMap, anyone? It is a cool, interactive map that helps you find yarn stores nearby, in your hometown or on the road. You can add stores you know about, rate them, search by classes, times they’re open, and a bunch of fun stuff. Be sure to check it out if you don’t already have.

Meanwhile, I leave you with a little more sweetness

Finally blossomed…a year later!

Happy creating!

Comments on: "Resurrecting Lizard Ridge…New Silky Toe-Up Berlin Muster" (2)

  1. Hi Sarah! We’ve made it to Bend but have other family visiting…hope to make it to a knitup soon!!catherineoneill at carrigeen.net

  2. High Desert Museum said:

    I love your Lizard Ridge blocks – I say make a throw blanket and enjoy it!

Leave a Reply

