A little bit of this and, a little bit of that, makes a little bit of me.


There may be peace without joy
and joy without peace
but the two combined make happiness~~John Buchan

Fearless knitting=More Socks and Shawls. My main focus for the past week has been my Whale-Tail Cabled Azure Socks, partially because they are so darn fun to knit!!

What is fearless about socks you ask? Well, I am dabbling again in modifying the pattern for personal fit and taste. So, that is fearless. And, trying out another way to knit up socks…that is fearless too. Don’t you feel happy just looking at them? It’s a good thing these Azure socks are addicting because I was trying to finish them up before Mystery Shawl Clue #3 to be released on Saturday, June 28.



PATTERN: Azure Socks by Deb Barnhill
NEEDLES: US #0; two 12″ (yes–it’s not a typo) Addi Turbo Circular Needles
YARN: Noro Sock, about half a skein, in S95B
MODIFICATION: Magical Cast-on 12 stitches; whirlwind toe. Once reached 60 sts, begin foot chart, knit to 5″ in length, then gusset increased. Reenforced heels. Ribbed only 1″ (instead of 1.5″). My preferred cast off is modified version of Elizabeth Zimmerman Sewn bind off for KP ribs.
COMMENTS: The pattern is very lovely, sweet, flows smoothly, and is very easy to memorize. I loved every bit of it as the vibrant colorway unveiled. It’s A-Must-Have.

The melt-downs that were happening in the past week were quickly erased by the awesome day spent today in nature walks–with two accommodating companies (Tyson and Cookie, our family pets)–while all three kids are at Campfire Day Camp in Tumalo State Parks. I even had a chance to knit a few rows of Sideways Cardi that has been in hibernation since March 24.

Clue 2 for Mystery Shawls #1 and #2 are finished…being fawned over with every spare moment I have. Just looking at them makes me feel dizzy and slightly faint. I almost slept with them, sinfully soft and decadent, under my pillow last night, but I was afraid I’d toss and turn a bit to much and get them all tangled up. We wouldn’t want that!! I don’t plan on doing all Chart B’s in Shawl #1 and Chart A’s in Shawl #2, it’s just worked out that way so far.



Shawl #1 in Chart Bs


Shawl #2 in Chart As
Happy creating!

Comments on: "Noro Toe-up Azure Socks Off the Needles…More on Mystery Shawls" (2)

  1. Your shawls are both gorgeous!!! I love the many and changing colors of the one, yet I then like the ethereal and softness of the other one! Once again, you inspire me!

  2. High Desert Museum said:

    Incredible socks! Wow. I can’t wait to see them in person.

Leave a Reply

