A little bit of this and, a little bit of that, makes a little bit of me.


Life is a tragedy for those who feel
and a comedy for those who think.
~~La Bruyere

Day three in Eugene, Oregon visiting families and friends…What’s new? I’ve never done an organized KAL or a Mystery project before. Renee Leverington presented this Mystery Shawl KAL to celebrate the third anniversary of her Goddess Knits pattern line. You will be able to purchase the complete pattern at the end of the KAL for a discounted price if you stay a member at the end of the KAL.

The idea of this Mystery may be different than any other Mystery KAL you have participated in. You select one chart from each clue to make your shawl. From the clues, you–among 300+ members–will create an unique, personalized circular pi shawl.

This is not my first foray into lace knitting. It is my first foray into the world of KAL’s. I am quite pumped up. First Clue released on June 14, with four more to come over next four Saturdays. Detailed material list and instruction for test swatches were provided a month ago. Since I have been playing with fibers and needles in the past year, I felt confident enough not doing one. Swatch test has not been my thang and I’m not about to start now–yes, I know–it’s bad! Someday, maybe I’ll learn…I’m good for now.

Thanks to Renee, the accomplished, talented designer and her well-written, thoughtful instructions, Clue 1 Chart B is finished in less than an hour after casting on this morning. It was very delightful…I can’t wait for next clue to come. And, did I tell you…patience is not my strong virtue!

PATTERN: Goddess Knits Anniversary Mystery Shawl
NEEDLES: Two US #4, 24″ Addi Turbo Lace Circular Needles
YARN: Noro Sock S182B; 4 skeins (pattern called for 3)
COMMENTS: No modification so far. Not only it’s beautiful but simple, it flows naturally and thus easy-to-memorize. Hope the variegated coloration of the sock fiber (instead of lace) will be pleasant. So far, the lace pattern has not deterred. I have high hopes…time will tell.

Overview: Clue 1 in Chart B

Closeup: Clue 1 Rows 1-14

Closeup: Clue 1 Chart B Rows 1-13
(Color is actually lighter, brighter than shown above.) I have seen others did crochet cast on to begin the shawl. I actually followed the pattern as I’m rather pleased with the look longtail cast on created. Besides the one above, there are three other chart options for Clue 1. I like them all and am contemplating whether or not to knit them all–yes, I mean four mystery shawls at once. It would certainly help in my Gift/Christmas stash. Why not?

If you haven’t done a KAL (Knit-Along), I highly recommended this one. If you are looking for a non-KAL shawl project, be sure to stop by Goddess Knits. I promise you won’t regret it!

Happy creating!

Comments on: "My First Knit-Along Goddess Knits Anniversary Mystery Shawl" (3)

  1. Pretty, Sarah! Can’t wait to see how it turns out. Hope you’re all having a lovely week.

  2. LOVE that yarn, the color will be beautiful! I can’t wait to see this finished!!

  3. the colors are coming out so beautifully!

Leave a Reply

