A little bit of this and, a little bit of that, makes a little bit of me.


You may notice that I had this knitting project interrupted for a few weeks (sure felt like months! Previous posts here, here, and here.) Clearly the idea of knitting sleeves created some sort of knitting trauma induced amnesia. This is scary!

Both front and back pieces of the Pinwheel Pullover were knitted up swiftly. I felt kind of smug that everything was going so well. I didn’t follow the pattern and just made it up as I went and kept numbers and measurements in my head. Except, my head was failing me. I realized I had miscalculated the decreases from top down–every other row instead of every sixth row…what was I thinking! I ripped it back and started from the very beginning of the sleeves. It was wrong again. The gauge was too loose. More ripping. It still didn’t look right after switching needle sizes. Another ripped. After a few more try, I came to term with the first zig-zag lace I did just wasn’t a match for the project. After ripping both sleeves five or six times, I had to put it to hibernation.

I was much, much happier when I pulled this out again on Monday. I went with a simple biased lace pattern in Size 4 needles for the sleeves this time…and boy, it went without a glitch. What a relief! I must say…I do love it even though there was not a rant & rave from DD#1. I would make it again.
Do you like my modifications–with slitted garter-ridge edging and lace sleeves?

Here is the Lace pattern (Knitted in a round; PM at beginning of the rounds):
Rows 1, 3, 5, and 7: (RS) *P1, ssk, k2, yo, k1, p1; rep from * to end of the row.
Rows 2-14 and 16: (WS) *K1, p5, k1; rep from * to end of the row.
Rows 9, 11, 13, and 15: *P1, k1 yo, k2, k2tog, p1; rep from * to end of the row.
Rep Rows 1-16. Decrease a stitch each side of the marker, every 6th Rows, to 50 stitches left on each sleeve. Continue pattern to desired length.

I’m so ready to move on to next WIP–Cable Icon Sweaters…not before I finish writing out a Entrelac bag pattern for a couple of my knitting gals for the Knit-Along. I must have it tested before Sunday, May 17. Pressure’s on!

Happy creating!

Leave a Reply

