A little bit of this and, a little bit of that, makes a little bit of me.


This post is especially for my new friend, Cathi, regarding knitting two socks on two circular needles. I didn’t have access to these wonderful tutorials when I learned to knit socks, mittens, sleeves, and front & back of a garment using this technique on my own. However, I didn’t find it difficult at all since I had a good understanding of sock anatomy an concept.

My favorite circular needles used for knitting socks is the combo of a 16″ and 20″ circular needles. My friend, Kristin, didn’t care for the 16″ because the knitting shaft is too short for her fingers. She uses the ones in 24″ length because she wasn’t aware of a 20″ length made.

Do you actually knit faster using this technique? You ask. Personally, my answer is yes. I don’t have to count bazillion rows and take notes constantly. Most beneficially and satisfactorily, both socks will end up identical–at the same time–eliminating the dreaded Second Sock Syndrome.

Here is a wonderful, well-documented tutorial by Sarah at Quacking Fiber Addict, and this by Silver’s Place, outlining each step of the process–using a mini-circular needle–with great photos. It is much easier than DPNs! I have used mini-circular needles but don’t care for them–too small even for my petite hands. A couple more great resources would be this tutorial and PDF download on 2-socks-on-2-circulars.

For knitters who like to knit two socks on two circular needles, I suggest a little practice with circular sock knitting first. A great place to familiarize yourself on how to knit socks on circular needles–one at a time–would be here.

Here is a pattern with instruction for knitting two socks at a time on a 40 or 47″ magic loop. If knitting from toe-up is your thing (like me,) give this simple one a try or Wendy’s generic toe-up.

Visit my Ravelry friend. David has a good explanation for sock construction/gauge etc. His blog journaled it well in parts, here, here, here, here, and here.

Hope you find these useful, Cathi. Happy creating!

Comments on: "Double Time: Two Socks on 2 Circular Needles" (2)

  1. Wow, Sarah! Thank you so much for all the info. I really appreciate you linking to so many great tutorials!!

  2. Hi Sarah !!!It’s Carolyn !!! I found your blog whilst out searching for toe up socks, two at a time! How are you???I so dearly miss our Bend knitters! I have found a great group here in Bowling Green, but my heart is in Bend.Take good care my friend,Carolyn

Leave a Reply

