A little bit of this and, a little bit of that, makes a little bit of me.


Remember the socks I just whipped up for my boy…yesterday after wearing them around barefoot for a few hours, he informed me with (the biggest grin I ever saw) there is a hole over his big toe!!!! Oh, boy…I cannot fathom how…now, more socks. Better get right on it. Meanwhile, I patched up the hole and the boy is happy again. PHEW…

I am on a roll…with sock knitting. Cat’s New Pathways for Sock Knitters is getting its mileage. It’s definitely showing its wear more than any of my other knitting books. On the ride over to Eugene last night, I cast on a pair of this Fair Isle

for Daughter #2. It went super fast. Pattern works well. I knitted a baby one when the book first came out but wasn’t excited about the design. I do however enjoy executing the sock without a gusset and incorporating fair isle patterns–not having to pick up a gusset stitch is an advantage.

Cat is right–there’s no constraint on where necessary increases have to go. I have seen many knitters cleverly executed sophisticated designs with this kind of twist. For me, I am still playing with the concept and hope to branch out with my own show-n-tell soon.

I cast on 6 stitches and increase to 36 stitches for toe-up. Arch expansion (to 50 stitches) was interesting as increases were executed where the spiral began from the side. With the second sock, I hope to start the spiral successfully on the opposite side. I did the EZ’s Sewn Bind-off because it uses less yarn. Plus, it gives a nice stretchy, finished touch.

Pattern – Coriolis Master Pattern (Coriolis Architecture) from New Pathways for Sock Knitters Book One by Cat Bordhi
Yarn – ¼ skein each of Lion Brand Micro Spun Lilac and Fuchsia
Needles – Two US Size 4 Addi Circulars
Gauge: 5.5 stitches/10 rows in an inch/stockinette
Modification: Added Fair Isle patterns. Only had room to do ½ of a spiral as DD#2 prefers ankle socks–all or nothing. There wasn’t enough canvas for a full spiral. In my next experiment, I will widen the spiral band for sure (K3 or K5 before after K2tog and before increases.)Took me – Whipped one sock up in a couple of hours in between distractions. Second one will be much quicker.
Comments – Once the spiral increase concept set in, it is relatively easy mindless TV knitting or knitting-to-go pattern. You will love it when they’re quick and easy and end up looking amazing especially with self-striping fiber..

Movin’ right along…I am ready to take my felt play to next level. What may that be, you ask? Shibori Knitted Felt. “Shibori is an ancient Japanese technique of adding resists to fabric before dyeing, typically by mechanical means such as binding with running stitches. Alison Crowther-Smith has applied this definition to felting with charming results as she uses bound marbles, surface embroidery and beads to texturize knitted felt. Combining two yarns that felt differently with some glass beads creates a lovely scarf for the opening project and provides beginners with an excellent introduction to the fascinating world of felting.” Click here for more M&C review.

There is no shortage of felt projects around here with the newly acquired Nordic Felted Knits by Gerd Fjellanger. There are also the ones I got last year–ie Felted Forward by Maggie Pace, Folk Style by Mags kandis, Bay Style by Pam Allen, Knitting Never Felt Better by Nicky Epstein…and many, many more (not including monthly periodicals.) Hopefully, I’d have tried most of them before Shibori Knits: The Art of Exquisite Felted Knits by Gina Wilde released in August! The challenge I have for another experiment in creating unusual textural and color effects…time!

Anyway, happy creating!

Comments on: "Fair Isle Coriolis Socks (Bordhi Coriolis Architecture)" (1)

  1. That shibori looks very interesting. I just recently discovered Nuno felting on silk and it sparked my interest immediately. Are those your chickens in the photo? I ask because we just brought home some chicks today… A new adventure!-Amber (http://berlinswhimsy.typepad.com)

Leave a Reply

