A little bit of this and, a little bit of that, makes a little bit of me.

Time for Resolution


Unlike the majority, I don’t believe in making new year’s resolution…they’re meant to be broken. Why set myself up for failure? Therefore, I do not have a list of resolutions for 2008. I just have one:

Be Honest

Being honest means not wasting time being self-conscious. As I become aware that more people are reading my blog, I have pangs of self-consciousness. That makes for lousy writing…and lousy creating. Anytime I show my creation I have a long, slow recovery afterward. How do I clear my mind and get rid of the feeling that I am being observed. The voices rattle around and I am tempted to make more of what pleased the audience once because it might be good enough to please them next time… Life is too short for this brand of shyness. I need to please myself, push myself, challenge myself, and bring something new to the table each time.

Being honest means not flinching away from what life presents. The best creative work is good without obscuring the truth. Being honest means having the courage to do the right thing. It will require reasoning and reflection to determine what “the right thing” is.

Honestly, that pretty much fills my plate. Be present. Be mindful. Be honest. Happy New Year!

Comments on: "Time for Resolution" (1)

  1. […] to improve and I’m getting wiser. If you’ve read my posts in the past (here and here,) I do not do resolution. However, I do make plans and am excited to start a new Knitting Year! […]

Leave a Reply

