A little bit of this and, a little bit of that, makes a little bit of me.


I love to sew things by hand. I feel so much more connected to my work than when I am using a machine. Plus, it is mobile. Besides, I am a little bit afraid of my sewing machine just as I am a little bit afraid of my car and my Cuisanart.

I first saw it on our friend’s blog and fell in love with it. Ideas crystallised; fabrics picked out. Like many of creavtive projects (rarely a shortage), they are just ideas buried in mind. So, at 2:30 this morning, breaking from my dear pal (my laptop), I cut out a few patterns, pulled out my little sewing basket, and put my own spin on a soft tree, so red.

I shall bury my weary Love
Beneath a tree so deep,
In the forest tall and black
Where none can see.

I shall put no flowers above his head,
Nor stone at his feet,
For the mouth I loved so much
Was bittersweet.

I feel capable and in control when I’m stitching up tiny things. Plus, it fits right in with my slow life movement (a bit of sarcasticism here–there is nothing slow about us!)!

Leave a Reply

