A little bit of this and, a little bit of that, makes a little bit of me.

Anxiety Relief Meditation


Meditation keeps me sane in a sometimes insane world.

http://youtu.be/8_jcEpwKQXc

  • First, I find a quiet place where I won’t be disturbed for next 13 minutes.  (not as easy as it may sound, mind you…at least not around me) 
  • Second, find me a comfortable position to sit.  Most times, I just lay flat on the floor.
  • Now that I’m ready, press PLAY.

Well…did you follow along?  How are you feeling?  Calm?  Peaceful?  Safe?  Uplifting?

Another common relief I find regularly is playing with fiber.  This is not spaghetti squash.  Just yarn in Wilton Cake Gel, lemon dye bath.

I needed some quick dyeing for a project ‘cuz the high temperature around here has dropped to the 30s in a day.  Why does it matter, you ask?  Read on.

Have you heard of a “temperature,” “sky“, and/or “weatherconceptual knitting scarf?  The outcome is totally dependent on the weather observation.  Each day, you knit a stripe in color that matches that day’s sky/weather.  At end of the year, you would have a spiffy 5-foot-long scarf.  This has been in my “queue” since 2011.  It has taken this long to move up to the plate.

If your temperature stays relatively constant, choose corresponding colors based on moods (chart linked.)  If you’re trying to diet in 2014–pick 3 colors and change your rounds when you lose weight, gain weight, or weigh the same.  The latter could be more challenging as you’ll have to step on a scale every day around the same time.  None of these flies?  No problem.  Just choose other motivator(s).  I choose blue for cold, red for hot, etc., but, you may pick anything appeals to you, whatever in your stash. Choose an easy hat pattern–there are tons of ‘em and free–on Ravelry.  Knit, crochet, weave, or full/felt goes.

Same idea fits easily into a hat, a sock, a mitten, a square, a blanket…one round a day, one color for each 10 degrees…Initially, I picked the high at 3 p.m. each day, wherever I may be.  Chances are the color changes won’t be too dramatic so less ends to weave in.  On the other hand, if you select 15 or more colors as I do, the gradient effect would be glorious.

After the 3rd day, I decided to just take the high of the day to simplify my life.  Less is more, right.  (Yeh…secret is out the bag.  I love BACI.  No if or but.  Just LOVE ‘em.  24 boxes for Christmas.  Beyond sweet!)

At a snail’s pace, it takes two months for a hat.  Six hats a year for gifts.  What a cool chemo hat this would make, don’t you think?

Rebecca aka socksformumtook started taking pictures of the Colorado sunrise every morning on May 12, 2012, used various motifs from Mary Jane Mucklestone’s 200 Fair Isle Motifs and modified her Fair Isle Sampler Hat…

What a stunning beauty she has grown up to be (as of December 31, 2013.)

I am madly in love with Alice’s double-knit option to record hi and lo temps.

Weather underground is a good site for looking up historical, present, and forecast, recorded temperatures in case you miss them on any given day.  It goes back to January 1, 1942 for my area.  However, it only went back to 2011 when I did a search for my birth place outside of the U.S.  Guess it takes time for the site to build up its historical database.  Do you know of other useful site(s) for tracking historical weather data?

Two heads are better than one.  Since the kick-off of A year of Temperature/Mood Scarf/Hat/Patchwork Blanket-Along for Ravelry 52in52-2014 member group challenge, the list of possibilities/ideas grew exponentially by the hour!  I am still charting, planning, prepping, and constantly changing/shuffling color orders.  This is what my 2014 Almanac looks like…4 days into it.

To accomplish my initial sizable project, instead of a row a day, mine goes like this:   2 rows first 2 days, 1 row on the 3rd, 1 row on the 4th.  Repeat the sequence.  Did you see a problem with my sequence?  If you do a lot of color work, you would spot it immediately.  On the 4th day, the designated color is quite contrasting from the day before.  Changing color strand on the backside would create an eyesore line of dashes on the public side of the project.  Image below is the backside of the fabric, but, you see the dashes between Lavenderish Wisteria and Royal Purple I am talking about, don’t you?

That just doesn’t fly with me.  Oh, no.  Solution?   With public side (aka right side) facing me, pull cable all the way to the left.  Attach new color strand and knit away.  Voila.  No dash.

Now, have I lost you in all these knitting gibberish?  Or have I convinced you to knit/crochet along?  You gotta admit giving a temperature scarf to an out-of-town friend–with his/her year of local temperatures–is nifty, cool.  If a sky scarf isn’t for you, maybe you can think of knitting, spinning, or even sewing/felting something else to represent your life on a daily basis.  By the way, if you have young kids, this is a wonderful project for teaching weather, temperature, charting, tracking, and more.  The sky’s the limit.

ღ¸.•*””*•.¸¸ “
ღ(✿◠‿◠)˙•٠•●ღ
ƸӜƷ•.¸¸.• ƸӜƷ

Happy crafting and keep those creative juices running!

(still doesn’t do MySpace, Twitter, StumbleUpon, DiggIt…but caved into Facebook, a smartphone, and a little bit of texting!)

Comments on: "Anxiety Relief Meditation" (1)

  1. […] of the temperature knit is underway (shown two images up,) recording hi and lo of first 5 days of the year.  20 wedges […]

Leave a Reply

